User Name Password Register
DaniWeb IT Discussion Community
All
What is DaniWeb IT Discussion Community?
You're currently browsing the IT Water Cooler category of DaniWeb, a massive community of 374,043 software developers, web developers, Internet marketers, and tech gurus who are all enthusiastic about making contacts, networking, and learning from each other. In fact, there are 2,881 IT professionals currently interacting right now! Registration is free, only takes a minute and lets you enjoy all of the interactive features of the site.
Please support our IT Water Cooler advertiser: Affiliate Marketing
Apr 27th, 2007, 2:10 am
Today I received an email from "Halifax bank" that contained the following:
Dear halifax customer,

During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification procedures, we have detected a slight error in your billing information.

This might be due to either of the following reasons:

1. A recent change in your personal information (i.e.change of address).
2. Submiting invalid information during the initial sign up process.
3. An inability to accurately verify your selected option of payment due to an internal error within our processors.

Please update and verify your information by clicking the link below:

https://www.halifax.co.uk/update.dll?NbankPlaceInfo

If your account information is not updated within 48 hours then your ability to access your account will become restricted.

Thank you
Well, since I didn't even have an account with "halifax bank", it was fairly obvious that this was a scam, and the fact that "halifax" isn't capitalized makes me highly skeptical of the professionality of the whole thing.

Hovering my mouse over the link which appeared to be pointing to an innocent-looking website revealed that the link was in fact pointing to a malicious site, just desperate to steal my money.

Curious to see how the website looked, I clicked on the link. A pleasant surprise awaited me, a message from Firefox came up that warned me that this was a phishing site, and that it was highly dangerous.

Amazingly, this is my first experience of a phishing attack trying to steal my credentials by using a fake website. Generally my mail provider filters everything pretty well, but this message in fact came through my DaniWeb email account, so that is probably the reason it got through.
This blog entry was written by John Altenmueller, staff writer aka John A. It has received 1,510 views, 0 comments, and 1 linkback.
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Post Comment

Only community members can start a blog or comment on blog entries. You must register or log in to contribute.

DaniWeb IT Water Cooler Marketplace

Related Blog Entries
Related Forum Threads
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:09 am.
Forum system based on vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2003 - 2008 DaniWeb® LLC