Yes, it's a scam/spam message. I have banned the member in consideration (even I was one of those members who received the PM) for trying to scam/spam via PM so it should be all good now.
~s.o.s~
Failure as a human
11,938 posts since Jun 2006
Reputation Points: 3,281
Solved Threads: 732
She sounds nice. Can you forward her my profile?? :)
diafol
Rhod Gilbert Fan (ardav)
7,736 posts since Oct 2006
Reputation Points: 1,168
Solved Threads: 1,071
What could the spammer actually get from this ... one more email or am I missing something?
Smeagel13
Junior Poster in Training
83 posts since Oct 2011
Reputation Points: 15
Solved Threads: 8
It's either a phishing scam (the old dating game one two - he/she sends photos of someone, builds a rapport, asks for money...) or a malware exercise where the photos are actually infected executables.
One thing is for sure, nothing good would come from it and DaniWeb bans all such scammers as soon as they are brought to our attention.
happygeek
Freelance Word Punk
27,454 posts since Mar 2006
Reputation Points: 1,457
Solved Threads: 54
It's either a phishing scam (the old dating game one two - he/she sends photos of someone, builds a rapport, asks for money...) or a malware exercise where the photos are actually infected executables.
Gulp!And this is a Developers forum. How possible for someone here to fall for that trap.
Erm...
diafol
Rhod Gilbert Fan (ardav)
7,736 posts since Oct 2006
Reputation Points: 1,168
Solved Threads: 1,071
I got two of 'em! (PMs) I knew one day a random woman would find my profile on DaniWeb attractive! Mom was right, she would like me for me.
I guess better to get a PM from SpamGirl than from WaltP...
jonsca
Quantitative Phrenologist
5,621 posts since Sep 2009
Reputation Points: 1,165
Solved Threads: 581
She sounds nice. Can you forward her my profile?? :)
Hehe you wouldnt want to know her trust me :D
The Dude
Nearly a Senior Poster
3,485 posts since Dec 2005
Reputation Points: 1,054
Solved Threads: 31
Hehe you wouldnt want to know her
True. Most especially not in a dark alley.please you can write to me (marcyalbert@yahoo.com)
If there's any grain of truth to that email address, it's probably a guy named Albert Marcy instead of a woman named Marcy Albert.
jonsca
Quantitative Phrenologist
5,621 posts since Sep 2009
Reputation Points: 1,165
Solved Threads: 581
If there's any grain of truth to that email address, it's probably a guy named Albert Marcy instead of a woman named Marcy Albert.
I'm open-minded :)
diafol
Rhod Gilbert Fan (ardav)
7,736 posts since Oct 2006
Reputation Points: 1,168
Solved Threads: 1,071
This is again one of the stupid ways of spammers out there who want nothing but money from you, when you will contact them they will have some false sob stories with some pictures that are very difficult for a normal person to view..
DanielMilstein
Junior Poster in Training
50 posts since Jan 2012
Reputation Points: 10
Solved Threads: 2
This is again one of the stupid ways of spammers out there who want nothing but money from you, when you will contact them they will have some false sob stories with some pictures that are very difficult for a normal person to view..
From experience, I assume? :icon_twisted:
WaltP
Posting Sage w/ dash of thyme
10,474 posts since May 2006
Reputation Points: 3,342
Solved Threads: 938