1,105,556 Community Members

Google Links

Member Avatar
Dani
The Queen of DaniWeb
20,567 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 1,356 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 931 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 204 [?]
Administrator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

I'm experimenting with a new advertisement spot to compensate for the two new servers we had to buy this month. It's a Google text link spot and it's displayed below the first post of a thread. Does anyone have a big concern with it being there or is it pretty good?

Member Avatar
Rashakil Fol
Super Senior Demiposter
2,596 posts since Jun 2005
Reputation Points: 982 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 209 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 42 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

No it's fine.

Member Avatar
MartyMcFly
Practically a Master Poster
674 posts since Feb 2005
Reputation Points: 9 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 24 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

It's looks fine to me, although it doesn't load on my work PC, must be some gateway issue, (no concern of here, similarly I have no ad next to google ads above quick reply box).

Anyways, since we are keen to embrace Google, could we have a google search bar, where you can either search the forums, or launch a web search. Everyone uses google to answer some questions, and would be much quicker than opening IE / Firefox again, loading google, and then searching.

(Sorry to change subject slightly)

Member Avatar
Dani
The Queen of DaniWeb
20,567 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 1,356 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 931 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 204 [?]
Administrator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

This has been tried in the past, and it really isn't cost-effective to send visitors away with a Google search. I have also tried using the Google API to perform Google searches while keeping the users on DaniWeb (ie: http://www.daniweb.com/search/search.php?q=SOME_QUERY to perform a google sitewide search where SOME_QUERY is whatever you'd like), but Google limits the number of queries that can be performed daily and we surpassed their max, even after emailing them asking to raise the limit.

If you're a frequent Googler, may I suggest the Google toolbar :)

Member Avatar
MartyMcFly
Practically a Master Poster
674 posts since Feb 2005
Reputation Points: 9 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 24 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

:)

Member Avatar
MartyMcFly
Practically a Master Poster
674 posts since Feb 2005
Reputation Points: 9 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 24 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Sadly the google toolbar doesn't fall within the "Authorised Software" where I work, nevermind, I get your point :(

Member Avatar
goldeagle2005
Finkus Stinkalotus
1,486 posts since Jun 2005
Reputation Points: 33 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 52 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

The google toolbar isn't available for Maxthon. Narf...

Member Avatar
The Dude
Nearly a Senior Poster
3,430 posts since Dec 2005
Reputation Points: 944 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 78 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

It looks OK :)

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article