Hello DaniWebies!
It seems like everytime I read a story or see something in a movie that involves a programmer and/or hacker/cracker they smoke at some point (usually at the computer). I'm curious: why is this? Is it just the fact that a lot of people smoke and so many of them would too? Or is there some connection between the two? Your thoughts?

Sincerely,

WolfShield

Recommended Answers

All 20 Replies

It's probably borrowed from the chain-smoking poet or whiskey-drinking writer stereotype.

Btw, I'm a programmer, a smoker, and a whiskey drinker, so I guess I qualify.

i am a programmer, i neither smoke, nor do i drink(alcoholic drinks). but i know some programmers who smoke, but then i know non-programmers who smoke as well, so i dont think there is any connection between smokers and programmers.

I was a long-time smoker, but quit a few years ago. The other three developers on my team have never been smokers.

I've never seen any occupational tendency towards it. Based on my personal observations, there seems to actually be a negative correlation. My sample population is rather low though, so as a programmer I wouldn't hold it up as a statistically viable assumption. :)