I'm an IT student and our thesis is about making an information system. (e.g. Virtual Tour, games, payroll system, enrollment system) But those examples are very common that's why I wanna ask for something unique. (Forgive me if I may have a wrong grammar. I'm not from an english-dialect Country. ^____^)

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Movie collection system. Read barcodes from movie dvd, look up the information (actors, description, etc) on the internet, and create a local SQL server (e.g. free MySQL) database of that information. You could do lots of stuff with this such as search for specific movie, produce a list of all movies in the database sorted in any order the user wants, or even play the movie.

Member Avatar for diafol

How about an academic timetable for an institution/uni/school's lecturers/teachers and students/pupils. With ability to export to GoogleCal (via iCal format). This is something I play with in my spare time - weekly/fortnightly timetables (repeat events), teaching blocks (semesters). There are some libraries out there to help, so you don't have to start from scratch:

http://kigkonsult.se/iCalcreator/index.php

About the movie collection system, it sounds very interesting. But what's the language are we gonna use there? Java? Coz our prof wants us to use java in our thesis, well it's optional but he'll give credits to those who will.

You can use any language you want -- most likely the language you know best. C, C++, VB.NET, C#, all will work. I'm not familiar with java so I don't know about it but most likely you can write it with that too. There's not much to reading barcodes -- just buy a very cheap barcode reader and it will dump the barcode contents into the computer's keyboard buffer just as if you typed them yourself.

Member Avatar for diafol

WHat is it with universities and java? Jeez. It shouldn't really matter which language you use, as long as it's 'distributable' and can work on target servers.