Member Avatar for [NOPE]FOREVER

I am on my 3rd and final year of the Bachelor of Information Technology. I need this textbook but obviously cant afford it being a student. does anybody know where i can get a free pdf edtion of it? the title is ASP.NET 4.0 Programming by Joydip Kanjilal.

Here is a link to the book i am talking about Click Here

cheers

happygeek commented: please don't ask for help with obtaining illegal stuff... +0

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Ever thought about using a library? As a student, I'm sure your educational facility must have a well stocked one.

As a programmer, would you approve if people stole your commercial code and handed it around is someone who 'obviously couldn't afford it' wanted a copy? Probably not, so why should authors (of which I am one) be any different?

For the record, our rules also state:

Do not ask about obtaining pirated software, nor link to it
Do not ask for help to pursue any illegal activity including, but not limited to, hacking and spamming

Both of which would fit here if you are trying to get a pirated commercial product, even if it is 'just a book'...

commented: good point +0

I saw a pitch on Shark Tank by some company that developed a mobile app to let students rent eBooks by the week. Seems relevant :)

But yeah, I'm with the OP on this one, Davey, in the simple sense that, at least at my alma mater, the extensive library that we had did not have any of the textbooks required for many of my computer science courses. Those had to be purchased at the school bookstore.

Would you have the same attitude towards some commercial software you had written Dani, if someone who 'couldn't afford it' was asking about where to get a free download? I doubt it, not least as the rules here strictly forbid such a question.

Why is an ebook any different?

The OP wasn't asking for a cheaper version, he was asking for a free version which pretty much means a pirated one...