Are acer laptops any good?

Member Avatar
Coach_Nate
Light Poster
48 posts since Aug 2004
Reputation Points: 4 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]

Just wondering if acer makes quality laptops... I found a good looking one on newegg.com and it's very reasonably priced (<900), but I've never used an acer before. I know newegg has a very good reputation, but I was hoping someone could help me out with acer.

thanks,
Nate

Member Avatar
Freedom9
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jun 2006
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]

I just purchased an Acer 5400 from Micro Center. 949.00 less $150 rebate less $100 rebate if I signed up for their credit card. Not bad for a 100 GB hd, 1GB memeory, 15" screen, XP Pro, etc. etc.

My son works in IT and has one and likes it. He says that the screen doesn't work if you are in the sun, so check out where you sit in realtion to the Light! :)

My company's IT guru, whose title is "chief cynic" also likes it.

So I bought it.

Now I need time to set it up.

BTW. Avoid the 3 yr warranty jazz. They have, if you ask for it, a Bronze 1 or 2 year plan for 99 or 129 that seems sufficient.

HOpe this helps.

Member Avatar
jwenting
duckman
8,359 posts since Nov 2004
Reputation Points: 1,399 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 447 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 35 [?]
Infraction Points: 5
Team Colleague

They're a European brand. They're a solid B brand here with aspirations to become a Big Name. Most of the quality and features of the majors but at a more reasonable price.

I'd rather buy one of the Big Names (Toshiba, IBM, Sony) myself if the difference in price was small because I want my machines to last years and years, but if you're looking at something that doesn't need to work 24/7 for a decade Acer is a very viable alternative.

Member Avatar
alpha2006
Junior Poster
116 posts since Apr 2006
Q&As Helped to Solve: 6 [?]