Just wondering if acer makes quality laptops... I found a good looking one on newegg.com and it's very reasonably priced (<900), but I've never used an acer before. I know newegg has a very good reputation, but I was hoping someone could help me out with acer.

thanks,
Nate

Recommended Answers

All 62 Replies

I just purchased an Acer 5400 from Micro Center. 949.00 less $150 rebate less $100 rebate if I signed up for their credit card. Not bad for a 100 GB hd, 1GB memeory, 15" screen, XP Pro, etc. etc.

My son works in IT and has one and likes it. He says that the screen doesn't work if you are in the sun, so check out where you sit in realtion to the Light! :)

My company's IT guru, whose title is "chief cynic" also likes it.

So I bought it.

Now I need time to set it up.

BTW. Avoid the 3 yr warranty jazz. They have, if you ask for it, a Bronze 1 or 2 year plan for 99 or 129 that seems sufficient.

HOpe this helps.

They're a European brand. They're a solid B brand here with aspirations to become a Big Name. Most of the quality and features of the majors but at a more reasonable price.

I'd rather buy one of the Big Names (Toshiba, IBM, Sony) myself if the difference in price was small because I want my machines to last years and years, but if you're looking at something that doesn't need to work 24/7 for a decade Acer is a very viable alternative.

Acer laptops are as good as any other laptop manufacturers. Personally, i think that they are of better quality than dell laptops.
I have an old acer laptop that I purchased in Europe back in 1999. It is still up and running although I don't use it anymore.

I have an Acer Laptop 3100 model - great value for money and holdings its value shame I can't say the same about the battery - when purchased they claimed it would last 3 hours - only one hour will it go for.

:p:p