Hi there,

I am new to Daniweb. Seeing that I am completely amongst people who obviously seem to know IT (tech support) to some degree, I am asking everyone to recomend me a training lession plan and textbooks so I can start learning Tech Support. I have completed my final yr in high school and have been gathering general IT reports visiting websites in the hope of learning IT-Tech Suppot. Unfortunately I am 43 years of age and do not have a clear idea of where to start with the learning. I am currently in a full time job that restricts me from attending a full time training college.

It so happens that with the help of somes friends, I have acquired a tiny little share in a tiny little IT business that provides tech support to the under priveledged community in the Pacific Island countries through a voluntary programme. I am absolutely new to IT however would like to dedicate my time to those in need. Unfortunately I cannot afford to pay people to provide this service on my behalf, however I can learn and do so in my own time.

Please help me get started...............

Thanks in advance to everyone who can contribute towards this good course.

Ashley.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Hi Ashley,
I was a Tech Support agent working with Microsoft, MSN, Windows OS, and Office.
My training did not come from books all the way, they were of some help, but hands on is what did the trick. I studied alot on my own and was great at my job. I now am a Field Manager for a Distribution and build PC's on my own. Any questions? I'd be happy to give you some detail about books and a great place to start is a call center and Microsoft!