Hi,

I have been working at my current job for about 2 and a half years now. My current job is the first job I have had as a computer programmer out of college. Lately, a number of factors, both personal and professional, have led me to decide that it is time to find a new job. As this is my first job, I've never done this before and was hoping I could turn here for some helpful advice. MY questions are as follows:

1. I hope to leave my job once I hit the 3 year mark. Since I will have three years experience under my belt, should I no longer include my GPA on my resume? It seems like this information shouldn't be as relevant anymore, but I just want to check on that.

2. Along the same lines, it seems like it would no longer be appropriate to ask my college professors if I may use them as my references. I know two of my bosses at work think highly of me and would provide a good reference for me, but I don't know if it's a good idea to let them know I'm looking for another job, especially because I have no idea how long it may take to find another job,

3. So naturally my next question is should I be looking for a job before or after I quit? I've saved up some money and would be able to support myself for some time, but of course there's too much uncertainty to rely on this.

4. Also, one of the reasons I have for wanting to find a new job is I'm sick of living where I currently am. I really want to move to the west coast or maybe the south. Would companies be reluctant to hire someone who lives very far away, as opposed to someone who is local? Would this make for a complicated and pricey interview process, as I would probably have to fly to wherever it was to interview in person? And suppose I do get a job somewhere far away, would I have a set time limit to find a place to live before starting?

That's all the stuff I can think of for now, if anyone has been in a similar situation, please let me know how you handled things! Thanks!

Recommended Answers