Hello everyone. I was hoping to get some constructive feedback on the direction I can/should go with my degree. I graduated spring 2009 with degrees in MIS and Marketing. I had a few interviews after graduating but, with the economy and probably my lack of specific skill focus, I was unable to find work. I feel that my MIS degree lacks specificity, that is it has given me a large number of low level coding skills, some basic networking knowledge, and some business knowledge. The only thing I feel truly proficient with is SQL.

I am a very quick learner so I was thinking about getting my brain fully wrapped around VB.NET in the next couple days. What other skills would proficiency give me a better chance in the job market? I was thinking about obtaining some certifications, as a means of displaying some of my knowledge to employers. Which certifications should I get? Ones that I have been looking at, that I think I can knock out pretty efficiently, are MCITP (enterprise admin), A+, Network+, Security+, CCNA.

Right now I am basically ignored by employers. What can I do to make myself marketable enough to actually find even a starting point for a career?

Because of my school situation I was unable to do any internships and that essentially killed me because I have zero work experience. I would literally work for free for a few months if it would give me experience enough to get hired for a permanent job. How can I get experience if I can't get hired?

If you could take the time to give me any kind of constructive feedback I'd really appreciate it.

Note: If you are wondering what I have been doing for a year and a half, the answer is I tried law school for a little while and realized I hated it, then started a business with a friend but found the pay wasn't worth the headaches. So now I'm back to what I enjoy.