Greetings. My first post. Found this interesting forum via google. Thanks for having me. :)

Ok, here's situation. I've been doing small business support for 10 years now on the side. Working a regular tech job as well. I'm tired of working for anyone else. Always have billed 'hourly', but that doesn't seem sustaining doing that full time. I have one customer on a monthly basis. My question is...to come up with a model that I can charge current and new customers for based on annual service. Here's an example of where I think I'm getting the short end of the stick. I have one customer with 1 server, store pos system with 2 registers, 20 or so pc's. During a year where there isn't alot of upgrades, breaks, and whatnot, I might only bill them 4 or 5k for the entire year. To me, it seems as thought the IT end of the business is worth more than 1/4 of what someone cleaning the floors is worth. No offense to floor cleaners. Does anyone have something they use in general like this?

Thoughts greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Bill

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I won't presume to know enough about your specific situation to give you specific advice. What I will offer is other scenarios. Choose the one that makes sense to you.

A floor sweeper, as you have mentioned, charges by the hour. He automatically limits the amount he can earn by the number of hours he has to work.

An IT guy working for a company is usually on salary, where it doesn't matter how long or hard he works. He always gets paid the same.

A plumber usually charges by the hour, "plus parts and other expenses". In order to make his money, he might do the diagnosing of the problem or job himself, then hire others to do the "grunt work" while he goes out to find more work.