Get yourself as many inbound, non reciprocal links as you can - relevant ones with keyword anchor text - that will help your site a lot.

I'm a newbie and for me SEO is optimizing your site to get better traffic and click results by ranking better on search engines. Does that work?

It does and it takes time and dedication to do so. There are lots of good resources both online (lots of blogs and forums) and in print (many good books) to get you started with the basics. Definitely learn as much as you can about analytics and look for web ranking analytics tools. Again, there are many online (google offers some good ones) and there are some really good software packages available. Basically, put the time in and do your homework and you will be well on your way. Good luck!

I just read on a website offering SEO advice to newbies that one of the top 5 on-page SEO mistakes is using images instead of text. But as I learn more about SEO I know I read somewhere that you can add tags to images and that the Google spidering bots will crawl the images looking at the tags. So do images hurt or improve your SEO results?

It is a long term investment as far as SEO is concerned.

While SEO was believed to be a part of the technical design of the site, it has become a part of internet marketing and as a result a subset of of overall marketing strategy. Having started in a traditional marketing role before the explosion of the internet I got very used to the concepts of ROI and laying claim to affecting a revenue stream. SEO and SEM are also subject to justification through ROI. Bascially, Internet Marketing is a group of activities and SEO/SEM is one of those activities.

Thanks for the information. I have set a low budget for my website SEO and that amount should be not more than $200/month. Please suggest me which service I have to use? Or Can I hire an expert as per my budget?