![]() |
| ||
| Has anyone heard of Global Domains International? I received an email from this company. They are selling domain names under www.website.ws I think Dani mentioned that you always want to have a dot com website address. Why does it matter if it's .com, .net, .ws? Is anyone familiar with this company? I thought to myself why would I want to pay $10 a month for email, website domain when I have these services through my ISP provider. When I checked it out the company pays you 10% of the sales each month for those people you refer that sign up along with your people signing other people. Am I naive and is just another scam out there? Maybe I've just answered my own question. :rolleyes: Input please:) Thanks! Leslie Global Domains International is like a lot of Internet companies in that it had a successful launch but had to slash staff in the last few years as the economy took a dive and technology companies fell out of favor. But there's one huge difference. No matter what, you can't call it a dot-com. Global Domains, which is based in Carlsbad, sells domain names for Web sites. Only, the company sells names that end in dot-ws, instead of dot-com (which are sold by Network Solutions, a unit of VeriSign). Global Domains International, Inc., (www.WebSite.ws) based in Carlsbad, CA, has been named one of America's entrepreneurial growth leaders by Inc magazine, which today released its 2002 Inc 500 ranking of the nation's fastest-growing private companies. The ranking will appear in the magazine's special Inc 500 issue, which hits newsstands on October 15. Global Domains International achieved 3479% growth in the past five years, ranking #37 on the list of 500 fastest growing companies in the United States, #5 in California, and #2 in San Diego with sales growing from $261,000 in 1997 to $9,341,000 in 2001. |
| ||
| Re: Has anyone heard of Global Domains International? Quote:
Let's take a real life example. Suppose you wanted to buy a Sony tv but wanted to investigate it first. Wouldn't you type in www.sony.com even if you had never been to Sony's site before? Having a .com extension just makes company branding a whole lot easier. If it was sony.ws, then Sony would need to specifically market "Sony.ws" on everything. And even so, a handful of their prospective customers, would still end up at Sony.com. But they don't have Sony.ws ... they have Sony.com ... so they only need to market the part that matters - the company name - the brand name - Sony. Also, especially in the technology industry, or for a site like DaniWeb, many web-saavy people realize that certain domain extensions such as .tk, etc. can be ordered for free or minimal cost. Therefore, if you're planning on starting up anything other than a personal site with such a domain extension, it may come off as cheesy. |
| ||
| Re: Has anyone heard of Global Domains International? I did a lot of checking via Google and everything stacks up to what GDI is - a pyramid scheme. I loved their building picture on their web site - but their memorandum of agreement with the Samoans only lists a suite number. I just got introduced through e-mails from my sister, only to find out they're auto e-mails from GDI with her name in the "From." Can't junk mail my sister's name. |
| ||
| Re: Has anyone heard of Global Domains International? Fair enough Dani but not alot of people do that now, most of them go straight to google and type sony and it takes them to sony's site, atleast thats what I do. In todays world you will be mighty lucky to find a .com domain which exactly matches your requirment. |
| ||
| Re: Has anyone heard of Global Domains International? Quote:
I've never been a big fan of .WS, but having one doesn't mean you are not a legitimate company. |
| ||
| Re: Has anyone heard of Global Domains International? It does not matter wheather it is a .com .net or .ws the .whatever is a registered whith ICANN Its all the same, it takes you to the website. As for GDI Domains, you get a domain name that you otherwise could not get with a .com Also the words that are in between the www. and the .com or .ws are key words in the eyes of the search engines! And when the are seperated with a - the indexing is even better. The domain name (key words are important if you want your website to rank high in the search engines, for your key words. Im a rep with gdi and Im glad Im with them, because I have the domain name << url snipped to comply with forum policy >> which I could never get with a .com regards |
| ||
| Re: Has anyone heard of Global Domains International? Hello, I have joined GDI as It provides a personal website and the opportunity to earn residual income. Some one mentioned this is a pyramid scheme?? What proof do you have? I am interested in your reply and where I can find out more info on this. |
| ||
| Re: Has anyone heard of Global Domains International? Hi all, Just thought I'd let everyone know I've joined. I have recently got myself a domain name through DOT WS (GDI) and have started builing my website already. My main website is a .COM (<< Snipped by moderator>>) but I thought I'd have a link to my .WS on it. It seems like an interesting Business Op. I do not think of it as a Pyramid Scheme as I have had plenty of experience with these little buggers in the past and I am therefore very cautious. It IS a Multi-Level Marketing Business though - some are bad, some are good. It does seem to benfit both parties though! The buyer (like I originally was) benefits from paying $10 a month and gets a domain name, advice on building a website, all the tools (incl. an Online Site Builder) & a Business Op. @ the same time..... & the seller gets another downline. I didn't think that was too bad!? To sum up - I think it's worth giving it a go and I will keep you all up-to-date on my progress, if you find this useful. Cheers, Rick. |
| ||
| Re: Has anyone heard of Global Domains International? Quote:
|
| ||
| Re: Has anyone heard of Global Domains International? I have been receiving emails from GDI for several weeks. They tell me to email myself if i want to get off the list. Duh. If this is a legitimate company, they are poorly run. Last night, someone actually called me up, saying I had requested them to call about a .ws signup. Totally untrue. He said he was calling from some island in British Columbia! It's possible they are a victim of some kind of spamming, but hard to believe since it's been going on for weeks. Whatever. I certainly wouldn't do business with someone who is not in control of their situation. |
| All times are GMT -4. The time now is 7:18 pm. |
Forum system based on vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2003 - 2009 DaniWeb® LLC