Hi there, nice to meet you all.

I'm a beginner using visual basic only started to learn it about a months ago. I'm having serious trouble at the moment.

I need a program that as soon as it is opened it prints the time into 100ths or miliseconds of seconds, then run the proram and then print the time again just as it ends. (timer at the moment only shows the Time as HH:MM:SS, i want it to show HH:MM:SS:Miliseconds if possible)

For example i open the program and the display on the timer label is prined into Text1 then it runs my loop 10000 times then as soon as it finishes the loop i it to print the time on the timer into Text2.

The reason im doing this is i need to investigate speeds of processors in different machines and prove that the faster the processor the quicker it can complete this loop. Timing by had is just not accurate enough.

all i have so far is:

Private Sub Form_Load()
Text1.Caption = time
for x = 1 to 10000
Print "Frost"
next
Text2.Caption = time
Timer1.Interval = 1
Label1.Caption = ""
End Sub
Private Sub Timer1_Timer()
Label1.Caption = Time
End Sub

1) I cant get the timer to go into hundreths or miliseconds.
2) I cant get the form to print the time on the timer into Text1 When it loads up
3) I cant get my loop to work, i have no idea why haha.
4) I cant get the form to print the time on the timer into Text2 When the loops finished.

Thanks so much for any help you can give, im just totally bamboozled as to how i'm supposed to do this.

I cant get it to work and i have been trying for 2 hours +

thanks again

Frost

P.S I have tried to enclose a screenshot of my program not quite the same as the one above but gives you the idea.

[IMG]http://img81.exs.cx/img81/8927/vb6rg.jpg[/IMG]

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Private Sub Form_Load()
	Text1.text = time

for x = 1 to 10000
		Print "Frost"
	next

Text2.text = time
	Timer1.Interval = 1
	Label1.Caption = ""
End Sub

Private Sub Timer1_Timer()
	Label1.Caption = Time
End Sub