Hello room.I'm a new member and thank you Administrator for allowing me to join this site.

I had my HP ze5300 Notebook plugged in and was on the Web yesterday.I accidentally tripped on the cord and unplugged it from the wall.When i plugged it back in,it would'nt power on.The blue -power on- light/symbol only briefly will flash on now for a second.

The AC Adapter is supposed to output 18.5 volts(according to its printed specs) but my digital multimeter is reading 17.2v to 18.2v.It jumps back and forth between these voltages.

Should I try replacing the AC Adapter first or is it possibly a short somewhere inside the notebook?

Thank you very much for any suggestions.

Kim

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I would say you are good on the voltage (varies by location), im an electrician and regularly see 110v AC at 105-128v, depending on location, distance from panel, loads on the circuit, etc...however I believe you may have broke a connection loose in the laptop. This could be a "easy" fix or terminal. I would jiggle the connector in the laptop to see if it will power up. If it does at a certain position you likely broke the solder joint, you may be able to fix this by supergluing the connector socket in place (with it unpluged). Otherwise you can try disassembling the laptop (a time-consuming pain) and solder the connection back in place. Just be careful not to solder other connections/parts to the bad one causing a short. This may very well not work, so depending upon how much you like your laptop, you need a new motherboard or new laptop. Either way the prognosis is not good. Good luck, Mav.

Also, doubt its the adapter, but it is alot cheaper and easier if im wrong (I remember that happening once), so you may want to try it. There may be a computer store that will let you test that theory before you buy. Best Wishes, Mav.

Thanks Maverick.