I have come to the conclusion that Dell Notebooks are NOT Linux friendly.
They do not have ANY linux drivers on the dell site for either of my notebooks C610 or D600...

If anyone has one of there running Linux I could use your help...

Thanks...

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

who's are?

I have been running linux on laptops for almost five years now, I have used many linux distro's on many different laptops. A good linux distro should support all your laptop hardware (minus onboard wireless and modem) and install without any real trouble. I have never used any drivers or programs from any of the hardware vendors.

What distro's and live cd's have you tried? Please include version number.

Since I had a copy of Red_Hat 6 I tried that with no luck...

Websites for all of my desktop hardware had a variety of Linux support...
Dell website had NONE... just M$

I found a guy that has a Dell C610 and installed Red_Hat 7.2 and he gave me the info I need to get it to run...

I found a local guy with 7.2 and sent him an Email to get it from him...

I also ordered a copy of 9.0 out of Utah w/ Open Office Included

It is not surprising that I cant get a GUI running without a proper Video Driver...

Since I have your attention, which I appreciate...
How many partitions should I setup for use with Linux...
I already have XP installed using 8 Gigs of a 20 Gig drive...

I don't intend to do much with XP...
It is only on there to help me learn a little about it...
(It came on the notebook)

I dont intend to do any serious work with Linux...
Just trying to learn a little more about both.

I dont mind using a boot floppy to get into Linux but editing the boot manager to allow both without a boot floppy would be nice...

Thanks for your time...

It sounded like you were trying to run a older version of linux on newer hardware. Installing RH6 would be like trying to install windows 95 on that laptop, there would be plenty of driver issues either way.