| | |
Good to see Firefox's anti-phishing works
![]() |
Today I received an email from "Halifax bank" that contained the following:
Well, since I didn't even have an account with "halifax bank", it was fairly obvious that this was a scam, and the fact that "halifax" isn't capitalized makes me highly skeptical of the professionality of the whole thing.
Hovering my mouse over the link which appeared to be pointing to an innocent-looking website revealed that the link was in fact pointing to a malicious site, just desperate to steal my money.
Curious to see how the website looked, I clicked on the link. A pleasant surprise awaited me, a message from Firefox came up that warned me that this was a phishing site, and that it was highly dangerous.
Amazingly, this is my first experience of a phishing attack trying to steal my credentials by using a fake website. Generally my mail provider filters everything pretty well, but this message in fact came through my DaniWeb email account, so that is probably the reason it got through.
•
•
•
•
Dear halifax customer,
During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification procedures, we have detected a slight error in your billing information.
This might be due to either of the following reasons:
1. A recent change in your personal information (i.e.change of address).
2. Submiting invalid information during the initial sign up process.
3. An inability to accurately verify your selected option of payment due to an internal error within our processors.
Please update and verify your information by clicking the link below:
https://www.halifax.co.uk/update.dll?NbankPlaceInfo
If your account information is not updated within 48 hours then your ability to access your account will become restricted.
Thank you
Hovering my mouse over the link which appeared to be pointing to an innocent-looking website revealed that the link was in fact pointing to a malicious site, just desperate to steal my money.
Curious to see how the website looked, I clicked on the link. A pleasant surprise awaited me, a message from Firefox came up that warned me that this was a phishing site, and that it was highly dangerous.
Amazingly, this is my first experience of a phishing attack trying to steal my credentials by using a fake website. Generally my mail provider filters everything pretty well, but this message in fact came through my DaniWeb email account, so that is probably the reason it got through.
![]() |
Similar Threads
- Looking for a good Anti-Spam program (Viruses, Spyware and other Nasties)
- works good on ac no dc (Troubleshooting Dead Machines)
- MS New Toolbar Anti-Phishing Add-on for IE6 (Web Browsers)
- Anti Vir or Another Anti Virus program??? (Viruses, Spyware and other Nasties)
Other Threads in the Web Browsers Forum
Views: 2557 | Replies: 0
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Tag cloud for Web Browsers
aiim2009 andrewlippmann android aol apple awesomebar background britain browser browserproblems browsers bug censorship childabuse china chrome client code compuserve contest crash defect development dns email error eu europe exploit explorer facebook fennec fileeditmissing firefox flash gecko google government ie7 ie8 internet internetexplorer internetexplorer8 internetusage iphone leak linux marshallmcluhan media microsoft mitmedialab mobile mobilebrowsers mosaic mozilla music netscape networking news newspapers newyork offline olympics onlinecommunities opensource opera patch plugins porn privacy safari save seamonkey security server sex silverlight social software survey surveys teenagers television thunderbird twitter u.s. uk update usenet users utest video web webbrowser webusage wikipedia windowslivemail worldrecord worldwideweb xp






