hello, i'm a student trying create a website using javascript. i am not familiar with javascript and i must use it to change only the content on my page. i have been stuck on this for days and i just cannot get it right.

using the 960 grid on the website what is the code to remove the behavior of my sidebar links?

also how do i add an onClick feature to my sidebar links?

the last question i have is. what is the correct code to change only the content of the page while everything else remains the same??

This is my html for the side bar and content div.

<!--HOT RODS LINKS -->

<div class="grid_3" id="car_links">
   <script type="text/javascript" src="js/hotrods.js">
    <ul>
	<li ><a href="#">Famous Hot Rods</a></li>
    <li><a href="#">Electric Cars</a></li>
    <li ><a href="#">Pre World War II</a></li>
   </script>   

</ul>
</div>
<!--CONTENT -->

<div class="grid_8" id="content"> 

<p>Click On list for Hot Rod List for details. </p>
 <p id="text1"> 
 </p>

</div>   

<div class="clear"></div>

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

hello, i'm a student trying create a website using javascript. i am not familiar with javascript and i must use it to change only the content on my page. i have been stuck on this for days and i just cannot get it right.

a good place to learn javascript is w3schools

using the 960 grid on the website what is the code to remove the behavior of my sidebar links?

I have no idea what this means

also how do i add an onClick feature to my sidebar links?

you add an onclick event like this:

<a onlick="somejsfunction()">click here</a>

the last question i have is. what is the correct code to change only the content of the page while everything else remains the same??

for this you will use ajax, which you can also learn at w3schools here

a good place to learn javascript is w3schools

I have no idea what this means

you add an onclick event like this:

<a onlick="somejsfunction()">click here</a>