Hi all, I have a form that works great, thats updates mysql db\table But id like the end user to enter his/her D.O.B.

for that I have created 3 dropdown menus one for day, second for month and third for year..since I'm new to php Id like to understand \ learn more about concatination

the fields are called dob_d \ dob_m \ dob_y

$gender = clean($_POST['gender']);
	$fname = clean($_POST['fname']);
	$lname = clean($_POST['lname']);
	$dob_y = clean($_POST['dob_y']);
	$dob_m = clean($_POST['dob_m']);
	$dob_d = clean($_POST['dob_d']);

I have tried several combinations of the above ie.
dob_y \ dob_m \ dob_d

the database field is named "dob"

$dob_db = "$dob_y-$dob_m-$dob_d";
iv also tried 
$dob_db = "$dob_y." ".$dob_m." ".$dob_d";
$qry = "INSERT INTO users(securecode, gender, firstname, lastname, dob, age, login,) VALUES('$securecode','$gender','$fname','$lname','$dob','$age','$login')";

its driving me crazy, Hope someone can help me out on this, and provide a learning curve, not just for me, but for those who may be looking for the same type of solution.
be regards
Lloyd

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

HI all,

iv been trying a few different things with this dob but im still getting erros

when i try

$dob_db = "$dob_y. "/" .$dob_m. "/" .$dob_d";

$qry = "INSERT INTO members3t(securecode, gender, firstname, lastname, dob_y, dob_m, dob_d, age,

VALUES('$securecode','$gender','$fname','$lname','$dob','$age',

i get the following error message "Warning: Division by zero in "

////////
if i try this

$dob_db = "$dob_y." ".$dob_m." ".$dob_d";

i get the following error message Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '"'
anyone got any help....
lloyd

All dates in MySQL are in the format: yyyy-mm-dd. Notice the hyphens and the number of digits ie 4 for the year, 2 for the month and 2 for the day. Today's date would be entered as 2009-12-24 and New Years Day would be entered as 2010-01-01.