Can anyone tell me how or what's the JavaScript code to perform the following:

1. I have two frames on my web page. (Top and Bottom)
2. Top Frame is data
3. Bottom Frame are some Controls. (Print button, Back Button, Close Button.)
4. I'm using VB.Net creating aspx pages.

Question: I would like to write to a field in my sql database when the user presses the "Print" button. I was told that I needed to do the following:

"create a "Print" button, and USING JAVASCRIPT, invoke the "window.print()" method when a user presses it, then you want to author a hidden form variable, then submit the form. Your code-behind page would read the hidden form variable to know that the user clicked your "Print" button."

What will I need to perform the above? I'm very new to web development and Javascript. Please help.

Thanks...

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

First, your print button can be an ASP.NET Web Server control, or not. Thinking it over, it might be good to use one, since then you can run both client and server-side code for it.

Let's talk about client-side first. You need to accomplish two things:

1) Open a print dialog box when the button is clicked.
2) Pass a value back to the server code that indicates the user clicked that button.

You accomplish the first task using the JavaScript window.print() method. You accompish the second task by setting the value of a hidden form element. You can do both tasks in a single JavaScript function. Here's a first attempt at what the code might look like:

<html>
<head>
<title>JavaScript Sample by tgreer</title>
<script type="text/javascript">
  function printMe()
  {
     window.print();
     document.getElementById("printed").value = "YES";
     document.getElementById("myForm").submit();
  }
</script>
</head>
<body>
  <form id="myForm">
    <input type="button" value="Print me" onclick="printMe();" />
    <input type="hidden" id="printed" />
  </form>
</body>
</html>