I'm a newbie/novice here who recently purchased a Linksys WRT54G Wireless Broadband router (though I'm currently using the non-wireless access via cable ports). My intention is to browse the web on my PC while viewing baseball on MLB.TV on my non-wireless laptop. I can do both individually with the cable directly from my modem or thru the router. My problem is receiving a simultaneous connection on both.

I tried setting up each with the Linksys CD, though the laptop won't let me connect to the router to complete setup. I tried the Network connection Wizard and it tried to dial up the connection. I also tried turning on the modem, connecting the cables to the proper ports, plugging in the router, then turning on the PC and laptop, in that order, but neither connection ever works. When I re-connect the modem cable directly back to the PC or laptop, the broadband connection works on that device, and continues to work after conecting back thru the router. But only on that computer, not the other. BTW, the power button blinks on the router but the light is solid on 2 of the ports.

This is quite frustrating. I wish I had a simple $2 connection splitter (like you use for cable TV) instead of this infernal router box. I'm not looking to share info between computers; I merely want an internet connection on both PC and laptop at the same time so I can watch the game.

After going to Start/Run, typing "Cmd", hitting enter, typing "ipconfig/all" then entering, this is what info came up on the PC:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VAIO
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Network Bridge:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : sc.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : MAC Bridge Miniport
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 32-B3-26-11-0E-36
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes