Hello,

I am new to Perl - and so far I am enjoying it. Unfortunately I do not have the luxury to start completely from scratch. I have here a problem that i am struggling to solve. I have spent many hours trying to solve this issue without any success, hence why I am asking (or begging whichever makes you feel better ;)) for help.

Problem

In Isodraw (technical illustration app) I am exporting a filename to a text file. Perl accesses the file, and places the text into a variable. I compare this variable to cell data within a spreadsheet until a positive match is made. I have everything working perfectly except that when Perl reads the text inside the text file it reads it differently:

V6558-04505-011_01 (Original - Text File)

■V 6 5 5 8 - 0 4 5 0 5 - 0 1 1 _ 0 1 (PROBLEM - Perl)

From my research it is due to different encoding. Now my options within Isodraw when creating the text file are either UNICODE or 8-bit ASCII. Neither has a good result in Perl, but I cannot change this inside Isodraw so Perl has to do it. (Note: if I manually save the text file out in notepoad to ANSI perl reads it perfectly).

I desperately need some assistance this is currently beyond my knowledge if anyone can help I would really appreciate it.

Many thanks

Alan

Example code

#!/usr/bin/perl -w

use v5.10.0;
use strict;

############# READ NOTE HERE ##############

###### -Uncomment below to see it working perfectly!
#our $VarFileName = "V6558-01501-011_01";

##### IF you wish to see it reading from the file comment above and uncomment Notes Y and Z.

my $record;

our $VarFileName; 			############ NOTE Y

my $VarISS = "VarISS_TestValue";
my $VarICN = "VarICN_TestValue";

############## READ FILE FROM ISODRAW ##################
open (ReadFILE, "<D:/ForJim/FROM_ISODRAW.txt") or die "couldn't open the file!";

while ($record = <ReadFILE>)
{
say $record;
chomp($record);

$VarFileName = $record; 		############ NOTE Z

}
#############################

#############################