Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone knows a good VB.net tutorial. I'm not a beginner programmer by any means, I have experiance in another .net language, C# but I have a course in VB.net next semester and wanted to get a head start. Any help you could give would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Tyler S. Breton

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

To be honest I'm learning vb.net at the mo and most the online tutorials suck. You'd be better of getting a book if you can afford it.

I see by your signiture that you know c# and vb6. You should have no problems picking up on vb net as it is not that different from either of them.
If you don't have it get the vb express 2005 (it's free). There are tutorials on msn for convertitng from vb6 to vb net.

The main difference between vb.net and c# is just syntax really so it shouldn't be much of a leap between the two. I would recommend you download some starter kits from www.asp.net and review some of the tutorials there.

Online tutorials do suck, actually, except for the Javascript and other web language tutorials on w3schools, but as for VB.NET, inside of the application there are links to a bunch of tutorials on the start page.
If you know VB6, VB.NET really is the same, except for a few major differences, but commands such as Form1.Show are pretty much the same in VB.NET, just with () at the end, Form1.Show().

The switch from VB6 to VB.NET took about a week for me, and I am only 14.

Hope this helps.

-- Alex

If you know VB6, VB.NET really is the same, except for a few major differences