Hey all just got hold of my first working mac. I don't have a monitor but this G3 has S-video connections. So I pluged it into my TV and it works. My questions are A: how big of processor can I put in it? B: What is the highest amount of ram you can put in? C: can you download the operating system like linux? or where can you buy it? D: Whats the biggest hard drive size to put in it? and last but not least, This box has 3 PCI slots in it. If were to stick a PCI video board in would it work? Thanks.

PS. I am new to the whole MAC thing so if there are any other suggestions I am open to them.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Hello,

Welcome to the wonderful World of Macintosh. First, MAC is a Media Access Code number found on ethernet cards. When refering to a Macintosh, call it a Mac. :) There, now the style is set.

Couple things:

A) Looking at the specs, your computer is Beige, and it is a desktop, not a tower. Am guessing you have the computer called "Gossamer" that was released in 1997, and discontinued in 1999.

1) There are a number of websites that discuss processor upgrades... look at http://www.xlr8yourmac.com to start out with.

2) Highest amount of RAM? My source says 768 if you use non-apple RAM. It says there are 3 sockes in there, PC66 3.3v unbuffered 8byte x64 Low-Profile 168 pin SDRAM. 10 ns.

3) The computer shipped with Mac OS 8. You can run 9.2, or OS X, but those would be purchased items for you. Not Downloadable. YOU CAN download YellowDogLinux (www.yellowdoglinux.com) and run that. Think of it as "Red Hat for Macintosh". It runs well, runs robustly, and with MacOnLinux (MOL), you can run Mac OS 8 or 9 within a "window". It would not make sense to run OS X within MOL.