1,105,352 Community Members

Mouse not working properly in OS X

Member Avatar
Tekmaven
Software Architect
937 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 258 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 29 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 27 [?]
Team Colleague
 
1
 

Somehow, I think my OS X is borked. Whenever you mouseover a menu, it's supposed to highlight, right? Well, mine doesn't... Also, my dock magnification is turned on, but if I highlight apps on my dock, they don't magnify, and it doesn't say the apps name above its icon. If I click on an app, the dock magnifies to it, but if I hover over another app the dock doesn't move (and is still magnified over the app I clicked on).

This stinks :-(. I don't even know what to search for, "mouseover not working?" Anyone know what's going on?

Member Avatar
kc0arf
Posting Virtuoso
1,913 posts since Mar 2004
Reputation Points: 53 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 66 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Hello,

What version of OS X are you using? Under 10.3 (Panther), go into System Preferences and into the Dock control panel. Do you have magnificaton turned on? If you have the size of the icons LARGE, and Magnification to MAX, they won't get much larger.

Also, when it highlights over a menu, what menu do you refer to? A screenshot may be useful.

Christian

Member Avatar
dshumway
Newbie Poster
1 post since Mar 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hello,

What version of OS X are you using? Under 10.3 (Panther), go into System Preferences and into the Dock control panel. Do you have magnificaton turned on? If you have the size of the icons LARGE, and Magnification to MAX, they won't get much larger.

Also, when it highlights over a menu, what menu do you refer to? A screenshot may be useful.

Christian

I am having exactly the same issue. I have a 24" iMac Intel with 10.4.8 and all current updates installed. The Dock is setup to Zoom b ut does not. On the top menu, I have two symptoms. 1) When I hover over ANY Menu item, it does not appear until I click on it. If I then move the Mouse over another Menu item, it does not appear. When I click on it, the menu appears momentarily, then disappears again until I click on it specifically. 2) Any Menu Item that is expandable (with a > arros next to it) does not expand when I hover over it. If I click on it, the entire menu disappears. This makes using ANY App near impossible. I entered a ticket with Apple support and they had me do the following in order:
A) Disk repair - did not fix the issue;
B) Archive and Install - did not fix the issue;
C) Install then import User Accounts and Applications from my full backup firewire drive. This also did not solve the issue, either before or after I ran Update (my disks are 10.4.7, the update is for 10.4.8). The problem presists in both my User account and my Admin account. I am not at home at the moment, but when I get home I will attach some screenshots.

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks,
Donn

Member Avatar
dewzie
Newbie Poster
1 post since May 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hello. My system just started experiencing the same problems as you have outlined in this thread (magnification and mouseovers not working). Were you able to find any way to fix the problem. I can't seem to find any other references to this anywhere.

Member Avatar
JustOneThing
Newbie Poster
2 posts since May 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi

What fixed this problem (for me) was merely disconnecting the reciever of the mouse (a Logitech MX Laser <some-number>) and connecting it again. Oddly enough it wasn't sufficient to disconnect and reconnect the USB hub the reciever was connected to (as I initially tried out of pure laziness). I hope this is of assistance to someone :-)

Happy hacking :-)
JustOneThing

Member Avatar
JustOneThing
Newbie Poster
2 posts since May 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

For the sake of making it easier for others to find this thread via a search engine i'll add some keywords :
Mac OSX mouse hover problem
Mac OSX dock magnification not working
Mac OSX mouseover

Happy Hacking :-)
JustOneThing

Member Avatar
lowndesc
Newbie Poster
7 posts since Oct 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Thanks for that, unplugging my logitech laser mouse fixed the exact same issue I was having. Thought I was going mad when I couldn't find a preference to turn off this 'feature!'

Member Avatar
vjffrsn
Newbie Poster
1 post since May 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

sorry to post in an old thread.

i just had this problem as well.

if you find after disconnecting the receiver, it still doesn't work. try disconnect all USB devices and plug them back in.

this worked for me.

hopes this helps..

Member Avatar
rapope
Newbie Poster
1 post since Aug 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Wow, that was simple!

I too felt the same level of frustration in trying to describe the problem!


Thanks,

Rocky

Member Avatar
Jamco
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Jul 2011
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Years later and the problem still exists...I just spent a couple of hours trying to figure it out until I found this post...thanks!

Member Avatar
jingda
Industrious Poster
4,424 posts since Mar 2011
Reputation Points: 135 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 174 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 1 [?]
Featured
 
0
 

So how did you solve it?

Member Avatar
Jamco
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Jul 2011
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I unplugged mouse receiver from the USB port, then plugged it back in and all was good.

Member Avatar
axaluss
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jun 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I hat the same mouse over issues. No menu except google chrome menus responded to mouse over actions.
I tried the trick to plug off and in the mouse but it helped just for seconds.

Then i switched the account and the mouse over worked! i switched back to my original user and there worked everything, too!

n074dr460n
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jul 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Unverified Member
 
0
 

I just had this issue, nothing on here worked. But I finally got it working again by unplugging the mouse, shutting down, booting back up, logging back in then plugging the mouse back in; plugging the mouse back in before the other steps failed to yeild positive results.

I have a microsoft mouse and a targus mouse, both worked fine when the Anywhere MX wouldn't. Apple needs new drivers for this specific mouse.

Member Avatar
mblaa
Newbie Poster
1 post since Oct 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

And 3 months later, the issue persists. This problem only manifested itself when using the mousepad rather than the external Logitech wireless mouse connected via Bluetooth. Using the mouse again solved it, but I spent the better deal of half an hour working out what was wrong. Thought it was some sort of energy-saving "feature"...

Member Avatar
CrArC
Newbie Poster
1 post since Oct 2008
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I'm having this issue too (OS X 10.8.2, Saitek Cyborg R.A.T. 7 mouse). It's like the pointer is ignored. If you fire up games they behave in odd ways too - some don't respond to mouse movement, some do but erratically, some don't respond to clicks...

Not finding any of the above solutions help really. Is it possible that a different model of mouse would not have this problem?

I notice that when the mouse is plugged in, the trackpad also misbehaves in exactly the same way. Soon as I unplug the mouse, the trackpad works great.

jfoo
Newbie Poster
1 post since Nov 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Unverified Member
 
0
 

Download and install this:

http://www.cyborggaming.com/blog/post/2012/07/03/Mac-Software-Updated!.aspx

Was having the issue with my R.A.T. 5, works properly now

Member Avatar
mpolege
Newbie Poster
1 post since May 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Oh you guys rock! I just had the same problem, years after the original post here and unplugging the Logitech usb dongel fixed it. Very kool!!

Member Avatar
Andy_4
Newbie Poster
1 post since Oct 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

YAY! Fixed. THANK YOU. Same issue, Logitech Performance MX mouse with Mac OSX, was not getting mouseovers in OS menus or online, mouse would also click very rapidly by itself and generate system error sound. This is a pity as the mouse was working just fine up until today, must have been some update that made it break. Using my magic mouse again for now with no issues. I was just about to wipe my computer and do a fresh install and migrate so THANK YOU for saving me the hasssle

Member Avatar
armirza1
Newbie Poster
4 posts since Oct 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

my wireless mouse always have issues on Mac..i personally think its better to not use it..its more trouble than convenience actually

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article