Hi

i am new to Mac so dont know alot of the software that is out there, however the first piece of software i need is a firewall and Antivirus (preferably free) are there any that u guys can recommend

Thanks

Studio

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

So you're new to mac, eh? How about we start with what kind of Mac you're learning on, powermac, iBook, whether it's a G3 G4 or G5, which version of Mac OS you're running, OS 9 or 10.4 for example. That's going to affect what you can and can't add a lot.

Sorry it took so long for someone to respond.

ipfw (the built-in firewall) is pretty good.

Hi

sorry i fogot to mention that i am on a Mini mac G4 1.25GHZ with 512 mb Ram that obviously runs MAC OSX 10.3.5

Oooo hahahah cooool Mac Mini!! What do you think about it? Are you coming from a Windoze background? What brought you to try the mac?

Welcome to the club!

Norton Antivirus is what I use, and is fairly a cheap software program to buy. Check into that for your virus protection. By the way, welcome to MAC (Most Awsome Computer) EVER. I don't like windows at all. Had family members that were windows forever, but got them to by Mac's, and love it.......and one of 'em are my parents who've never owned a computer before, and say the mac is sooooo easy to learn!

Hi,

I would not be the quickest to jump onto the Norton bandwagon.... I have seen cases where Norton fell apart in the Windoze world, and the antivirus just seems clunky on the Mac.

Also note that Virex, the last time I checked, was incompatable with my USB Palm device. I could not sync while Virex was up and running, because Virex would lock the file. I also found Virex support on OS X to be spotty at best.

Right now, I am not using anything on my Mac for anti-virus. I do not use Microsoft Office, so any office macro bugs heading my direction will not execute. I love OpenOffice. I am also behind a Linux-based firewall, so attacks via the network are thwarted there.