1,105,281 Community Members

How to access window's remote desktop from Linux

Member Avatar
aripaka
Light Poster
36 posts since Aug 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi,

I have a machine with Windows XP installed on it with the remote access enabled. Is it possible to access /log into it and control the PC from another machine with Fedora 8 on it?

Thanks in advance...

Member Avatar
mostafadotnet
Junior Poster
157 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 18 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 13 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

There are two paths you can take but I've just tested one:
1)Use Wine in Fedora to run mstsc.exe in linux and simulate .exe runtime environment.mstsc.exe is in your windows\system32 directory or can be easily downloaded from microsoft.com website.
2)Use VNC.It means that you should download WinVNC on windows XP which would act as your server.And use VNC client that you use in Fedora to access your Windows XP machine.

The second solution that I've also tested is much better because it doesn't throw the currently logged in user out but the first one does because of windows XP limitation of one user at a time.

600) 1(_)[|<.

Member Avatar
aripaka
Light Poster
36 posts since Aug 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi mostafadotnet,

Thanks for your suggestion.

I see that using VNC method will leave the windows system open i.e. others will be able to see what i am doing on that PC where as, while using mstsc, it will just showing that the PC is locked. Is there any way to achieve the same effect through VNC?

Member Avatar
DimaYasny
Godmode enabled
1,773 posts since Jan 2007
Reputation Points: 171 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 91 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 4 [?]
Team Colleague
Featured
 
0
 

use RDP

man rdesktop

Member Avatar
sloan31
Junior Poster in Training
65 posts since Apr 2008
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 3 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

use RDP

man rdesktop

rdesktop is definitely the way to go, and you might want to install tsclient.

Member Avatar
DimaYasny
Godmode enabled
1,773 posts since Jan 2007
Reputation Points: 171 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 91 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 4 [?]
Team Colleague
Featured
 
0
 

Krdc - under KDE

Member Avatar
jbennet
Moderator
17,127 posts since Apr 2005
Reputation Points: 1,618 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 736 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 38 [?]
Team Colleague
Featured
 
0
 

yeah, use rdesktop

I use that for connecting to my ancient Windows NT4 Terminal Server Edition system.

Member Avatar
BillBrown
Junior Poster in Training
60 posts since Dec 2006
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 3 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

This thread needs just one more person recommending rdesktop.

Use rdesktop.

And my work here is done.

Member Avatar
osirisgothra
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Jan 2011
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Use rdesktop
heh

Member Avatar
prj
Newbie Poster
6 posts since Jan 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

TightVNC on XP works well for me.
Can remote from any of my Linux boxes or my Android phone from anywhere.
Also secure using ssh.

Member Avatar
CimmerianX
Practically a Master Poster
658 posts since Jul 2010
Reputation Points: 53 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 83 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 13 [?]
 
0
 

This is a 4 year old thread.... Why bring it back to life at all?

Member Avatar
kellagroup
Newbie Poster
1 post since Mar 2014
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Because of rdesktop!

Member Avatar
Assembly Guy
Posting Whiz
350 posts since Apr 2013
Reputation Points: 72 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 39 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 21 [?]
 
0
 

Because of rdesktop!

Sorry, what? Is it just me or is that not even a reason?

You
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: