Hello,
I am very new to the world of Linux. Could someone tell me if I were to setup one machine with Linux, Apache, MySQL and PHP and dual boot it with Windows 2000 Professional, what would the ideal hardware requirements be. Also, what is the ideal size of a database with some 1000 records going to be.

Thanks
Jyothi

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

In terms of hardware requirements, the first thing you need to consider is the particular distribution of Linux that you want to use, as not all distros support/are compatible with all hardware. Most "brands" of Linux have a Hardware Compatibility List available on their support sites; you should check those lists to confirm that your particular hardware components are known to be compatible with the distro you choose to install. Although third-party drivers are often available for unsupported components, as a newbie it's obviously best to go with a distro which fully supports all of your hardware "out of the box".

In terms of hardware requirements, the first thing you need to consider is the particular distribution of Linux that you want to use, as not all distros support/are compatible with all hardware. Most "brands" of Linux have a Hardware Compatibility List available on their support sites; you should check those lists to confirm that your particular hardware components are known to be compatible with the distro you choose to install. Although third-party drivers are often available for unsupported components, as a newbie it's obviously best to go with a distro which fully supports all of your hardware "out of the box".

OK. I will be using Fedora. Could you please let me know what the hardware requirments will be.