ok, as you might now after reading this im new to linux. Now im on knpiix i ran a sudo knppix-installer and made it the promary OS on my PC, no more Windows.. any way, im a paranoid kid. How come knoppix doenst come with a firewall any one know? I want to install one but atm im reading up on how to do all of that. Any one know if knoppix has a firewall pre installed or do i need to installiptables or any othe firewall you recommend. Or couid I use WINE and run a windows firewall on here? I do have a router but i feel its not enough. TYIA. Sphyenx.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hello,

I do not know enough about knoppix to see if it can survive as an installed, high-powered linux on a hard drive with the bells and whistles you would expect.

I work with RedHat, Fedora, and SuSE. All of them had options to install and configure IPTABLES... which was basically a script that called the program and configured it on the fly.

You might also have webmin at your disposal, and be able to setup SonicWall within that utility. I am thinking for my next upgrade of my main central server of going with the SonicWall defined within webmin.

DO NOT run WINE and a Windows firewall. Your core OS is Linux. You cannot expect a emulation to run in the right place of the operating system. Now, if you had a VM setup, then you could run a firewall within it, but no, not to cover the whole ball of wax.

Christian

thank you, cause i have no clue is linux is open to spyware either.. i need to look in to this.. What Anti Virii do you use, and what spyware etc do you use?

I have knoppix but not that version...
I use guarddog firewall...and Mepis as well as Knoppix

Preconfigured and no problems.
No one I know uses antivirus, anti spyware ao anti adware in linux... yet...

Mozilla Firefox takes care of most of the problems or pop-ups...
Mozilla Thunderbird will take care of you Pop3 E-mail