Here is a thread I posted earlier in the Windows forums. I have continued my questions in the Linux forum because this is becoming more Linux related.

http://daniweb.com/techtalkforums/showthread.php?p=95084&posted=1#post95084

Now don't get me wrong here, I love Linux (even though I am still very new to it), but I can't feel comfortable about what happened until I know what's going on.

I am using the following partition setup:

Hard Drive 1:
Partition 1 (10gb, FAT32) - Microsoft Windows 98 Second Edition
Partition 2 (70gb, NTFS) - Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2

Hard Drive 2:
Partition 1 (2gb, SWAP) - Linux swap space.
Partition 2 (78gb, RAISER) - SuSE Linux 9.1 Professional.

Bootloader:
Type - Grub
Location - Floppy (just goes to the Windows bootloader without floppy)
Entries - Linux, Windows (Which loads the Windows bootloader on C:), Failsafe, Memtest

In that thread, I describe how I noticed that the Windows bootloader complained that NTLDR was missing after I installed Linux, even though it was present there. I was able to fix it by messing around with the hardware, but I don't think I could fix it again were I to redo what caused the error in the first place. This was a bit of a different setup though, and thus, the error most likely come at all this time. SuSE is currently installed, but I haven't done as much with it yet as I did last time. I just want to be on the safe side here.

My questions are:

1. Will SuSE try to make changes to Hard Drive 1, Partition 1 that would cause the Windows bootloader to be unable to start if I run YaST Online Update?
2. If I store my Thunderbird profile on Hard Drive 1, Partition 1 so that I can share it between both operating systems, could this cause the error to come back? What about sharing Firefox's bookmarks.html in the same way?
3. Does anyone have an idea of what happened to me here?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies