hi all,

i hope this is in the right place. im a newbie and want to gain much experience with linux as server and maybe say 2 or 3 clients, all different OS's.

at my work we have lots of pc's laying around and I have the okay from my boss to setup a little test network with 3 or 4 pc's, one server and the rest clients. i want to know if some of the experienced users can give me ideas on how i can set up this test network. i want to create users and groups, set policies and make this like a normal corporate server would be like, just on a very small scale. any suggestions would be apperciated.

1. First of all, can Slackware be a server OS? if yes, can it install on a normal pc? same for CentOS, can it be installed on a normal desktop and run as a server?

2. Which distro should i use for the server OS? Is CentOS the industry favourite? I cant do RedHat, have to pay for it. Or Slackware?

3. On the clients side, can i install windows xp or 7 on one clients, maybe fedora on another and then ubuntu on another?is it possible to run a network like this? i want to gain as much experience as i can with setting up different distro's and a server.

4. how do i go about this project? do i just install the different OS's on each and connect them to a switch and see what happens and configure from there? is there anything important i should know before attempting to do this?

i know this thread sounds stupid but i am an entry level IT guy and am so darn eager to learn the whole network server industry but i lack so much in knowledge. i dont have a clue what im doing, i know i want to do it, but the method is unclear.

PS. i would like to make a diagram of the layout and some documentation when im done and everything runs smooth. maybe it iwll help someone else starting out like me.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies