1,105,409 Community Members

Remote Desktop to Ubuntu from a Windows XP PC

Member Avatar
stupidenator
Junior Poster
192 posts since Mar 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 4 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi everyone,
I am playing around with Ubuntu that I put on an older PC. I was wondering if it is possible to bring up the Ubuntu desktop on my other computer that runs Windows XP via some kind of remote desktop application. Thank you for any help in advance.
Nick

Member Avatar
kc0arf
Posting Virtuoso
1,913 posts since Mar 2004
Reputation Points: 53 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 66 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Hello,

Yes, it is possible to see your Ubuntu desktop via the network on your XP computer. You will require software called VNC to make the connection. You can run the VNC server on the Ubuntu box, and the VNC client on XP, and make the connection.

Note, if you have firewalls in the way, it may require modifications to them in order for the traffic to pass.

Christian

Member Avatar
stupidenator
Junior Poster
192 posts since Mar 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 4 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Thank you for the post. I googled vnc and got a program and it is working perfectly!
Nick

Member Avatar
stupidenator
Junior Poster
192 posts since Mar 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 4 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I am experiencing a problem, however. It allows me to connect, but only sometimes. Other times it will tell me that it could not find the server. Is this normal? I am having trouble determining if it is my windows pc, or linux that is causing this to happen. Thanks for any help on this in advance.
Nick

Question Answered as of 6 Years Ago by kc0arf
Member Avatar
oneadvent
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Jun 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

If you are using fiesty fawn (7.04) it has a vnc server automatically installed in it.

Go
Main Menu >> Preferences >> Remote Desktop

Click
Allow other users to view your desktop
Allow other users to control your desktop

Do not forget to set a password.

Now all you have to do is VNC to the Box using the ip address.

That will make sure the error is not with installation, which is always a pain in linux.

Member Avatar
kbmtech
Newbie Poster
1 post since Feb 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I am experiencing a similar problem. I am using the latest version of Ubuntu, and unfortunately, I can only get a vnc connection if I am logged in to my ubuntu machine. I had a machine little over a year ago with an earlier version of ubuntu and I was able to VNC to the login screen, then log in to the desktop. What gives now? I have checked off the invitation confirmation, but I still can not log in unless I physically go to the machine and start a session. Then I can log in via VNC. Why is that now?

Member Avatar
Comatose
Taboo Programmer
2,536 posts since Dec 2004
Reputation Points: 290 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 227 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 34 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Step 1. Don't post to threads that are like 3 or 4 years old.
Step 2. Don't ask a question for yourself on someone else's thread
-ie: make your own thread
Step 3. Make sure the vnc server is running, regardless if you start a session or not.

Member Avatar
foobakej
Newbie Poster
1 post since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Step 1. Try not to be an ### to people that are trying to understand ubuntu.
Step 2. See step 1.

Step 3. Profit!

Member Avatar
Amithabh
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Dec 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

In ubuntu using team viewer(via WINE) we can access windows platform.And how to access in windows ubuntu remote desktop .Using VNC,RDP so on softwares are available but not getting the correct out put. If any one know pls give the instructions one by one................

Member Avatar
Amithabh
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Dec 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Give me instructions for installing ASP on ubuntu.I had got the articles .But its said that java home enviroment is needed.i couldn`t install.So pls help me.

Member Avatar
johnbmcdonald
Newbie Poster
1 post since Mar 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

If you are using fiesty fawn (7.04) it has a vnc server automatically installed in it.

Go
Main Menu >> Preferences >> Remote Desktop

Click
Allow other users to view your desktop
Allow other users to control your desktop

Do not forget to set a password.

Now all you have to do is VNC to the Box using the ip address.

That will make sure the error is not with installation, which is always a pain in linux.

Worked Perfect!

Thanks!

John

Member Avatar
nubcub
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jun 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Instructions were supremely accurate. Built-in VNC server on Ubuntu 10.04 worked fine out of the box and a Windows XP client with VNC viewer connected right in. Thanks.

You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: