1,105,416 Community Members

Ubuntu only using one stick of ram

Member Avatar
ret801
Junior Poster in Training
63 posts since Jan 2011
Reputation Points: -9 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 5 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

hello I have just installed ubuntu over my windows partition and I like it but im having minor issues, when I open system monitor and look at the memory usage I see I have 741 mb of memory wtf!?! cause I know I have 2gb installed

Member Avatar
ITkat
Newbie Poster
1 post since Feb 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

ubuntu uses 256mb of ram to install and 8mb ram is consumed by graphics i don't know of the remaining 995mb of ram but my guess is that it might have been used during installation. ubuntu can run with 256mb ram

Member Avatar
mosu30
Newbie Poster
1 post since Mar 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Read this,it will help you: www.linuxatemyram.com

Member Avatar
jbennet
Moderator
17,127 posts since Apr 2005
Reputation Points: 1,618 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 736 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 38 [?]
Team Colleague
Featured
 
0
 

Type "free -m" into the console

Give me the output.

Member Avatar
117
Light Poster
45 posts since Jan 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I guess you are using WUBI to install Ubuntu alongside Windows.

WUBI was origionally created for Windows users to try out the Linux Operating System,
in order for the users to later install a full copy of the operating system on another HDD or on a
another partition, even completely switch to Linux from Windows.

However, some things are stricted and very limited, when using WUBI.
For example, the maximum system size is limited to 30GB, even if you have more HDD space.
I don't really believe that RAM would be limited, while using WUBI.

Have you checked your RAM?
One of your RAM-stick or RAM-Ports may be damaged.

Hope this helps.

Member Avatar
rubberman
Senior Poster
3,999 posts since Mar 2010
Reputation Points: 513 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 501 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 87 [?]
 
0
 

How are you determining this amount of RAM? Post the output of the "free" command here.

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: