Hi,
i am relatively new to programming. i am trying to use an open source library found by google search. the readme file tells to write make on commandline, as a result i got an exe file sample, but now i am trying to chk the output and the usage is:

USAGE
Usage: sample <options>

options:
  -c : Encode input file to output file.
  -d : Decode input file to output file.
  -k [1-7] : Length of binary portion.
  -i <filename> : Name of input file.
  -o <filename> : Name of output file.
  -h|?  : Print out command line options.

-c      Compress the specified input file (see -i) using the Lempel-Ziv-Welch
        encoding algorithm.  Results are written to the specified output file
        (see -o).

-d      Decompress the specified input file (see -i) using the Lempel-Ziv-Welch
        decoding algorithm.  Results are written to the specified output file
        (see -o).  Only files compressed by this program may be decompressed.

-k [1-7]        The number of bits in the binary portion of a Rice encoded
                value.

-i <filename>   The name of the input file.  There is no valid usage of this
                program without a specified input file.

-o <filename>   The name of the output file.  If no file is specified, stdout
                will be used.  NOTE: Sending compressed output to stdout may
                produce undesirable results.

i think i sholud give the command ./sample -c -4 -input.txt -output.txt
but i am getting an error. the error gives description of usuage, which means i ma doing something wrong.
any help is appreciated.additionally, if anyone can refer me to some document describing how to give such commands i will be grateful.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I think you need to be doing this:
./sample -c 4 -i input.txt -o output.txt

i gave the command

./sample -c(compress) -4 (value of k) -1.txt(input file) -2.txt(output file)

but error message says:

Error: k must be between 1 and 7.
Usage: sample <options>

Options: