1,105,208 Community Members

ifconfig

Member Avatar
lewashby
Posting Pro
559 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I ran the command ifconfig and in addition to lo and eth0 I got this item that I have never seen before. Can anyone tell me what it is?

virbr0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr da:1c:6c:2a:cb:80
inet addr:192.168.122.1 Bcast:192.168.122.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

Member Avatar
rch1231
Veteran Poster
1,184 posts since Sep 2009
Reputation Points: 131 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 193 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 13 [?]
 
0
 

Looks like some sort of Virtual NIC. Are you on a virtual system (ESX guest) or running any virtual software on the server?

Member Avatar
L7Sqr
Veteran Poster
1,006 posts since Feb 2011
Reputation Points: 179 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 168 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 11 [?]
 
0
 

It might be NAT related

Member Avatar
CimmerianX
Practically a Master Poster
658 posts since Jul 2010
Reputation Points: 53 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 83 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 13 [?]
 
0
 

This is common when you run a virtual environment on the same host. Do you have Virtual Box installed on this host by any chance?

Member Avatar
lewashby
Posting Pro
559 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 1 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

No, it's just a computer with a few LFS systems on it. I built two LFS systems, resized a partition and then installed ubuntu server.

Member Avatar
naphets
Junior Poster in Training
65 posts since Feb 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 4 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

su root
ps -e | grep ubuntuone
kill above id's
I am guessing it is their cloud.. which is why i went to Mint.

Member Avatar
tnhjennis
Newbie Poster
3 posts since Feb 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Appears to be bridging interface. Did you install any new program recently?

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article