Hi,
I am a PHP developer and am working for a company. I used to develop CMS for websites for it's clients but the company used to treat me like shit. I mean really really bad. I was always booed and had to do anything everything asked by my boss as i was a graduate with no prior experience.
Right from the first project onwards i wrote a file deletion function in all the client's custom CMSs. I would like to know if there is any security audit log being maintained by the company on its server? They have both windows and php servers. My boss doesn't have any prior technical knowledge. Infact i am the only one technical person with a valid computer science engineering certificate at hand. Is it possible to know if the security audit is turned on or not? If so, how can i check it out on both platforms? What sort of information will be displayed...like will it show my IP address and MAC address?? Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

It all depends on how the systems are setup, by any access to a computer system whether via some sort of backdoor or through a legitimate means shall normally leave a log.
It shall likely record your IP, what time it was accessed, what was viewed and what (if any) modifications have been made. Besides, unless the servers have been set up in such a poor way, a PHP script won't be able to do much damage at all to the servers themselves, and any database should be backed up so in the long term you won't make a dent.

At this point, I should point out that running the file deletion function is highly illegal, and is a Level 3 computer crime which can result in a singificant fine and imprisonment.