Hey All,

I am a linux newbie and I come from a windows background.

I want to install linux on my pc and start learning it. Can you tell me which version of linux could suite me the most, keeping in mind that I m just a starter.

I heard a lot about CentOS, is it good for me or do you have any other versions to be suggested.

Thanx

Recommended Answers

All 25 Replies

Go with redhat, it is stable.

Most of the distros people will throw out will be pretty similar for a beginner; they'll have slightly different installers, slightly different administrative software, and very little difference in available packages. Ubuntu, CentOS, Fedora, and SuSE will all probably do about as well for you.

If you like to start by jumping in the deep end and trying to swim out, I'd recommend Gentoo or Slackware (Gentoo was my first distro). These are not so easy but you will learn a lot more just from the install process. I would note, however, that Gentoo makes you compile all of your software from source code, so if you want to try it be aware that it will take the longest time by far...

Good luck with whichever distro you choose! :)

CentOS is very stable but its a bit hard to set it up for dvd playback and certain other media files like flash and java

I recommend ubuntu . its:

• 1 cd (you can order it if you dont want to download, its cheap - you want version 7.04 feisty fawn)
  • you can boot from the cd and try it out first without installing anything (runs in memory)
  • easy to install media codecs etc....
  • easy to keep updated
  • designed for newbies - the forums are good

256+ mb ram and a pentium 3+ or equivilent is about the recommended spec

It all depends on your goals with Linux. If you simply want a stable operating system replacement for Windows and don't want to learn much about the insides of Linux, choose something simple like Ubuntu or SuSE.