1,105,177 Community Members

Make google your default search engine

Member Avatar
nanosani
Technize.net addict
1,764 posts since Jul 2004
Reputation Points: 20 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 58 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 1 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Run regedit from your run menu and find this key :

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main

and find Search Page value and change it to google like this :

"Search Page"="http://www.google.com"
"Search Bar"="http://www.google.com/ie"

Member Avatar
Dani
The Queen of DaniWeb
20,551 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 1,356 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 927 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 203 [?]
Administrator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

Cool, thanks :) I use use the Google toolbar, myself ;)

Member Avatar
mddv
Junior Poster
168 posts since May 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Run regedit from your run menu and find this key :

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main

and find Search Page value and change it to google like this :

"Search Page"="http://www.google.com"
"Search Bar"="http://www.google.com/ie"

Can't you just go to tools>options then set google as your home page???


Isnt it a better way.

Member Avatar
belama
Posting Shark
963 posts since Mar 2005
Reputation Points: 6 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 3 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

What does it really do? I changed the Search Page value and I'm not sure what it changed. What do I have to do to notice the change?

Member Avatar
MartyMcFly
Practically a Master Poster
674 posts since Feb 2005
Reputation Points: 9 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 24 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I like the Firefox default home page, and open a new window for any searching.

Does your suggestion have any change to any IE function then?

Member Avatar
Catweazle
Grandad
4,257 posts since Mar 2004
Reputation Points: 140 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 163 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 4 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

The Google toolbar is a better alternative for IE users. It adds more functionality.

belama, the registry tweak simply forces IE to use Google for searching, rather than the MSN search engine it's set to use by default.

My own choice:

Firefox rather than Internet Explorer. I have Google set as the default search engine, and it gives me a drop down box I can click on if I wish to use Dictionary.com, Wkipedia, eBay, Yahoo or any other engine to search with.

I consider that loading a website page for the search engine before performing a search is about the clumsiest and worst way to do searches. Much better to simply type the search terms into a box and then click a button!

Member Avatar
belama
Posting Shark
963 posts since Mar 2005
Reputation Points: 6 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 3 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Yeah I'm also using Firefox, it's so practical.

belama, the registry tweak simply forces IE to use Google for searching, rather than the MSN search engine it's set to use by default.

Doesnt seem to work for me :-|. I dont really care anyway.

Member Avatar
cne
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jun 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

how do i get the google tool bar to put at top for this search engine

Member Avatar
rinapu
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Jun 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I use and recommend Google toolbar, it has a lot of useful features for internet surfers.

Member Avatar
anthony.essel.90
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jun 2013
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I would rather just make google my homepage directly so that when i start my browser Google starts first.

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: