1,105,263 Community Members

Can't Format Partition

Member Avatar
dlh6213
Posting Maven
3,096 posts since Jul 2004
Reputation Points: 27 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 221 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

I wanted to clean up one of my drives (partition "f"), so I moved everything I wanted to keep to another partition ("h"), and deleted what I didn't want. I then tried to format the drive but got a message saying it couldn't be done (screenshots attached). I've done this before without any problems and I can't figure out what's wrong. I tried booting into Safe Mode, but got the same message. I then tried the Diagnostic Safe Mode, same thing again. Anyone know how I can format this drive?

Using WidowsXP Home

Attachments Cannot_Format_--_Screenshot.JPG 46.9KB Safe_Mode_Processes_--_Screenshot.JPG 46.39KB
Member Avatar
Cain
Posting Whiz in Training
298 posts since Aug 2004
Reputation Points: 2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 3 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

well, windows would seem to be telling you that something is cached or resides
on that particular partition that is required for day-to-day operations.

you can take care of this from the command line before windows starts.. but
that may not be the best plan of attack. if you have multiple partitions on a single drive and you can read it, whats the motivation to re-format it?
dual boot? or are you just cleaning house?

Member Avatar
kc0arf
Posting Virtuoso
1,913 posts since Mar 2004
Reputation Points: 53 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 66 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Hello,

It is possible you have a swap file on the volume you are trying to format. Or it could have a share sitting out there. But sharing should be off in safemode. I would bet my doughnut on a swap file sitting there.

Christian

Member Avatar
dlh6213
Posting Maven
3,096 posts since Jul 2004
Reputation Points: 27 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 221 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Cain -- I have no problem accessing/using the drive; just doing some general maintanence. If I can't do it, it's no big deal, but I'd like to know why I can't.

Christian -- You were correct about the swap file; that never even occured to me (I didn't have it there last time I did this). The problem is, even after getting rid of it, it still won't format. I tried Safe Mode again, but still no luck.

Any other ideas?

Member Avatar
alc6379
Cookie... That's it
2,752 posts since Dec 2003
Reputation Points: 105 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 154 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 4 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Try booting to the recovery console on your Windows XP CD. If you can get into it that way, you won't be using any swap space, and should be able to format it.

Member Avatar
dlh6213
Posting Maven
3,096 posts since Jul 2004
Reputation Points: 27 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 221 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

I haven't tried Alex's suggestion yet; here is some more info that may help generate more ideas. I changed the Folder Options to not 'Hide protected operating system files'. I was then able to see three items:

Recycler Folder -- 3 folders, 6 files, 24KB
System Volume Information Folder -- 0 folders, 0 files, no space used
Pagefile.sys (System File) -- 102,400KB

I tried to delete them but couldn't; tried it from Safe Mode, and still couldn't. Could this be what's keeping me from formatting? If so, how do I get rid of them?

Member Avatar
alc6379
Cookie... That's it
2,752 posts since Dec 2003
Reputation Points: 105 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 154 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 4 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Cain -- I have no problem accessing/using the drive; just doing some general maintanence. If I can't do it, it's no big deal, but I'd like to know why I can't.

Christian -- You were correct about the swap file; that never even occured to me (I didn't have it there last time I did this). The problem is, even after getting rid of it, it still won't format. I tried Safe Mode again, but still no luck.

Any other ideas?

Did you delete the pagefile, or actually change the swap drive in memory options? If you delete the file, it comes right back, I do believe. If you need instructions on changing the paging drive, I can find some, or Google can help.

Member Avatar
dlh6213
Posting Maven
3,096 posts since Jul 2004
Reputation Points: 27 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 221 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Did you delete the pagefile, or actually change the swap drive in memory options? If you delete the file, it comes right back, I do believe. If you need instructions on changing the paging drive, I can find some, or Google can help.

I changed it in the Memory options.

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: