1,105,334 Community Members

Page cannot be displayed when login to Hotmail

Member Avatar
rmistry
Newbie Poster
6 posts since Apr 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi

I am having trouble logging in to Hotmail and this problem is manifested in both IE and firefox which I have recently just installed. It was working fine up until 3 days ago.

When I enter username/password at www.hotmail.com I get the message 'The page cannot bb displayed' - though it is a valid account which I have been using for years.

I have run spybot and HijackThis and fixed any problems through them and also deleted cookies, temp internet files and history.

I also installed Firefox to see if this was a browser related issue but the same problem occurs.

Does anyone have courses of actions that I should try to remedy this problem?
Thanks

Member Avatar
caperjack
I hate 20 Questions
13,851 posts since Aug 2003
Reputation Points: 875 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 902 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 69 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Hi

I am having trouble logging in to Hotmail and this problem is manifested in both IE and firefox which I have recently just installed. It was working fine up until 3 days ago.

When I enter username/password at www.hotmail.com I get the message 'The page cannot bb displayed' - though it is a valid account which I have been using for years.

I have run spybot and HijackThis and fixed any problems through them and also deleted cookies, temp internet files and history.

I also installed Firefox to see if this was a browser related issue but the same problem occurs.

Does anyone have courses of actions that I should try to remedy this problem?
Thanks

Register the following system files
Click Start > Run
Type “regsvr32 softpub.dll (w/o quotes)
Press OK
Repeat the above steps for the following:
regsvr32 wintrust.dll
regsvr32 initpki.dll
regsvr32 dssenh.dll
regsvr32 rsaenh.dll
regsvr32 gpkcsp.dll
regsvr32 sccbase.dll
regsvr32 slbcsp.dll
regsvr32 cryptdlg.dll

check this link
http://www.daniweb.com/techtalkforums/thread13938.html#post104213

Member Avatar
rmistry
Newbie Poster
6 posts since Apr 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi Caperjack

Thanks for the suggestions,

I have tried the commands step by step as you suggested but am experiencing the same result as before. I go to www.hotmail.com and type in the user/password of my account which then gets redirected to the following URL ...

https://loginnet.passport.com/ppsecure/post.srf?lc=2057&id=2&ru=http://www.hotmail.msn.com/cgi-bin/sbox&tw=20&fs=1&cbid=24325&login=anony89@hotmail.com&domain=hotmail.com&da=passport.com&kpp=2&svc=mail&msppjph=1

and after about 1 minute it finally ends up at

http://www.hotmail.msn.com/cgi-bin/sbox?did=1&t=.....

with 'The page cannot be displayed message' ...

Note that this seems to be a localised hotmail issue as my yahoo email account is still accessible.

Any further thoughts ???

Member Avatar
caperjack
I hate 20 Questions
13,851 posts since Aug 2003
Reputation Points: 875 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 902 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 69 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Hi Caperjack

Thanks for the suggestions,

I have tried the commands step by step as you suggested but am experiencing the same result as before. I go to www.hotmail.com and type in the user/password of my account which then gets redirected to the following URL ...

https://loginnet.passport.com/ppsecure/post.srf?lc=2057&id=2&ru=http://www.hotmail.msn.com/cgi-bin/sbox&tw=20&fs=1&cbid=24325&login=anony89@hotmail.com&domain=hotmail.com&da=passport.com&kpp=2&svc=mail&msppjph=1

and after about 1 minute it finally ends up at

http://www.hotmail.msn.com/cgi-bin/sbox?did=1&t=.....

with 'The page cannot be displayed message' ...

Note that this seems to be a localised hotmail issue as my yahoo email account is still accessible.

Any further thoughts ???

sorry ,just passing on the thing that worked for others ,never have a problem with hotmail myself

Member Avatar
meg_addict
Newbie Poster
2 posts since May 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi There !!
I'm an ISP from Nagpur , India . Few of my customers were facing this problem . I've done some changes in their Firewall settings . I've "removed" denial to UDP 443 - 446 in the firewall . Denial to TCP 445 and TCP/UDP 135-139 remain . It has worked immediately on all machines . They were either using Tiny or D-link DI 604 Broadband Routers as firewalls .
I hope it works for you too .

Hi

I am having trouble logging in to Hotmail and this problem is manifested in both IE and firefox which I have recently just installed. It was working fine up until 3 days ago.

When I enter username/password at www.hotmail.com I get the message 'The page cannot bb displayed' - though it is a valid account which I have been using for years.

I have run spybot and HijackThis and fixed any problems through them and also deleted cookies, temp internet files and history.

I also installed Firefox to see if this was a browser related issue but the same problem occurs.

Does anyone have courses of actions that I should try to remedy this problem?
Thanks

Member Avatar
DesFox59
Newbie Poster
4 posts since May 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi Caperjack

Thanks for the suggestions,

I have tried the commands step by step as you suggested but am experiencing the same result as before. I go to www.hotmail.com and type in the user/password of my account which then gets redirected to the following URL ...

https://loginnet.passport.com/ppsecure/post.srf?lc=2057&id=2&ru=http://www.hotmail.msn.com/cgi-bin/sbox&tw=20&fs=1&cbid=24325&login=anony89@hotmail.com&domain=hotmail.com&da=passport.com&kpp=2&svc=mail&msppjph=1

and after about 1 minute it finally ends up at

http://www.hotmail.msn.com/cgi-bin/sbox?did=1&t=.....

with 'The page cannot be displayed message' ...

Note that this seems to be a localised hotmail issue as my yahoo email account is still accessible.

Any further thoughts ???

I think I've got same problem

Hi,

No luck I'm afraid.

This issue started a couple of months ago and has now stopped me logging into anyone's hotmail address on this PS .. I have up to date Adaware and AVG anti virus and spyblaster delpoyed. Although no firewall.

Anyway symptoms are as follows:-

type in www.msn.co.uk

Main screen appears OK except top right hand corner which is white with following message

! Action canceled.
Internet Explorer was unable to link to webpage requested. The page might be temporarily unavailable.

If I then click on the hotmail link on MSN .. it brings up the usual sign in page asking for address and password.

Type in the relevant details (for any hotmail account) - press OK

and I get a pure white display except for address bar which has this VERY Long address

https://loginnet.passport.com/ppsecure/post.srf?id=2&svc=mail&cbid=24325&msppjph=1&lc=2057&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fwww%2Ehotmail%2Emsn%2Ecom%2Fcgi%2Dbin%2Fsbox%3F%5Flang%3DEN%266c6f7264%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fwww%2Emsn%2Eco%2Euk&bk=1116537306

In the past I got round this by typing www.hotmail.com into the address box and it would open up .. But now it just returns to the sign in page requesting password to be re-entered .. etc etc .. ad infinitum .. until system becomes unstable .. and blue screen death.

Any ideas ??

Please advise

thanks

Des

Member Avatar
rmistry
Newbie Poster
6 posts since Apr 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

In the end it was a router issue I think but not entirely sure. I found some posts on google about problems with hotmail and router settings (I have Linksys) and was to do with resetting the MTU value (mine is at 1500) - In fact I belive I changed it and then changed it back to it's original 1500 and that seemed to have solved the problem - hey presto. Sorry that i can't be any more explicit but you may want to try and change this setting and see what happens.

Good Luck!

Member Avatar
DesFox59
Newbie Poster
4 posts since May 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Register the following system files
Click Start > Run
Type “regsvr32 softpub.dll (w/o quotes)
Press OK
Repeat the above steps for the following:
regsvr32 wintrust.dll
regsvr32 initpki.dll
regsvr32 dssenh.dll
regsvr32 rsaenh.dll
regsvr32 gpkcsp.dll
regsvr32 sccbase.dll
regsvr32 slbcsp.dll
regsvr32 cryptdlg.dll

check this link
http://www.daniweb.com/techtalkforums/thread13938.html#post104213

Hi tried all the steps

and encountered a message saying

'LoadLibrary (name of dll) failed'
GetLastError returned Ox00000485

for the following three dll

regsvr32 gpkcsp.dll
regsvr32 sccbase.dll
regsvr32 slbcsp.dll

Any ideas ??

Thanks

Des

Member Avatar
memol
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jul 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I had the same problem: the hotmail homepage came up but when i entered my usename and password it said the page cannot be displayed and also my msn messenger couldnt sign in. So here's what i did
go on your MSN messenger... click on tools>options> go to connection tab then click on advanced settings. uncheck all the four squares.... try that and see if it resolves ur problem. i hope that helped...

Member Avatar
sebastiannus
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jul 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I am having the same problem, I have been to two other computers at internet cafes and have gotten the same "page cannot be displayed" error.

I just hope it's a server problem, in any case where can one contact hotmail's staff or help?

Member Avatar
ghopperhowe
Newbie Poster
1 post since Aug 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I had the same Hotmail/MSN problem. I found that i had a blocking script in my MsiExec.exe file that i removed and replaced. It has worked fine after that. It was the ONLY thing that worked for me. I tried lots of the other stuff reccomended and this was what worked.

Member Avatar
matts22
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Aug 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

How did you do this? Sorry but I'm not too experienced with this stuff, I just want to get my hotmail account working on my computer. Thanks

Member Avatar
lzetsen
Newbie Poster
1 post since Oct 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Definately was a router isssue for me, try hitting the reset button on your router anyone, it worked for me, thanks for the help.

Member Avatar
CartFan500
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jan 2006
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Register the following system files
Click Start > Run
Type “regsvr32 softpub.dll (w/o quotes)
Press OK
Repeat the above steps for the following:
regsvr32 wintrust.dll
regsvr32 initpki.dll
regsvr32 dssenh.dll
regsvr32 rsaenh.dll
regsvr32 gpkcsp.dll
regsvr32 sccbase.dll
regsvr32 slbcsp.dll
regsvr32 cryptdlg.dll

check this link
http://www.daniweb.com/techtalkforums/thread13938.html#post104213

WORKS!!! This fixes my inability to access https:// or any SSL link.
Would have been nice to identify the cause but I won't look a gift-horse in the mouth. Thanks again!

Member Avatar
barbara2
Newbie Poster
5 posts since Aug 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I not able to log in after i have accessed the home page. This includes my bank, msn and some microsoft links. I am at my wits end. Can you help?

Member Avatar
killerb
Newbie Poster
1 post since Sep 2006
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I was just about to format and start over after trying everything. Then I went into my router and changed the default MTU from 1458 to 1500. Now everything works (MSN, Hotmail, Windows Live Mesenger, Web Messenger and also Windows Updates).

Member Avatar
JohnnyGRN
Newbie Poster
1 post since Dec 2006
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Sorry for resurrecting this post, but I have been experiencing this problem (but not only with hotmail, but also some other mail accounts, my bank site, and sites like play.com too. It happens only in sites that require login through a secure conection -https- But, I can acces other similar sites just fine).
It must be a router problem, because two days ago, before installing the router (a Linksys WAG54GS) I used a cable-modem to acces internet and everything worked fine. I've installed the modem again , just to check, and everything worked again.

I've tried every solution I have found in the net: opening different ports, changing the MTU values, registering the system files, the hotmailfix.exe, etc. almost everything, and nothing has worked for me.
¿Any idea on what to do?

Thanks in advance.

Member Avatar
Harvest
Newbie Poster
2 posts since Jan 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Alright, almost every computer repair request I've had in the past 5 months was this problem exactly.
I don't know exactly what it is, or how I've fixed it. It seems to me that it is directly linked to Norton Internet Security. It seems to go haywire one day after it hasn't been updated it for a few months. I am quite sure that Norton is in fact Satan. Anyway, try going into services.msc and disabling each individual process related to Norton or Symantec. On most computers I've tried it on, it worked.

Member Avatar
colinnwn
Newbie Poster
4 posts since Jan 2007
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

It seems to me that it is directly linked to Norton Internet Security. It seems to go haywire one day after it hasn't been updated it for a few months. I am quite sure that Norton is in fact Satan.

I am quite sure I agree with you! Thank you for pointing me in the right direction. Unfortunately your method didn't work for my particular situation. I had to do several more hours of research and trial to figure it out. But it would have been much longer without your tip.

As you allude to, just going to the uninstall Norton Internet Security icon probably won't work, as it will tell you that you need to sign in, but it won't tell you how to do that.

I had to start in safe mode, go to msconfig, disable all Norton and Symantec items in the 'services' and 'startup' tabs, restart in normal mode. Then uninstall Norton Internet Security worked and I restarted. Immediately after, the internet was alive!

Hooray for Harvest! BOO on Symantec for releasing this garbage, and then having the nerve to ask you to pay for it. I should bill them for removing their hooptyware.

Member Avatar
MidiMagic
Nearly a Senior Poster
3,404 posts since Jan 2007
Reputation Points: 556 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 215 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 2 [?]
 
0
 

Somebody may have reported a hotmail account as spam, and Yahoo blocked all connections to that server again.

I am on Yahoo too, and sometimes can not access eBay because someone reported one of those phake eBay emails as spam again. For some reason, the spam reporting software can't tell the difference between a phaked or spoofed email address and the real website.

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: