943,824 Members | Top Members by Rank

Ad:
Dec 26th, 2003
0

A new trojan ?

Expand Post »
I received a mail from matchmaker.com yesterday telling me that they have found a match for me.I believed it because they used a very familiar name...so here is the message:
" Congratulations --

You matched through SecretAdmirer.com!

To find out who you matched with, and to see if your
admirer wrote a "match line" to you, please come to
this internet address:

http://www.secretadmirers.xs3.com

You can just copy and paste this URL into your Web
browser, or click on it if it's highlighted.

By the way, replying to this e-mail won't work. To
read your match message, you have to come to the
internet address above.

Thanks,

SecretAdmirer Staff

*** SecretAdmirer.Com --- The Electronic Cupid *** "

I went to the redirected site and a message asked me to click on a small icon to enlarge the card and see who has sent me the card.After the card download completes , my avg virus scanner says something like that a trojan dropper called yabindar.c has been found in my ie5 temporary files.I don't know why avg couldn't heal or delete it.I wrote down the path where it went like c:/mydocuments/username/locasettings/ie5/temporaryinternetfiles/yabindar~c something similar to that but there's no such folder called local settings in my username folder...i got the problem fixed but just to let everyone know about it.Interestingly,when you are in that xs3 page , check the html source and you'll see that the picture has been taken from a powow.com homepage.you go that homepage and you'll find his hotmail add too.I'm not sure if it's a setup or not. .com sites like matchmaker would never borrow a pic from a personal homepage.
Last edited by camelNotation; Dec 28th, 2003 at 2:04 pm.
Similar Threads
Reputation Points: 16
Solved Threads: 2
Posting Whiz in Training
camelNotation is offline Offline
208 posts
since Sep 2003
Dec 26th, 2003
0

Re: A new trojan ?

Yea.. before you download stuff if check if its a .exe file.. if it is more than likely its a malicious file (assuming its not a installer for a program.. but for like an ecard etc thats not normal )
Reputation Points: 11
Solved Threads: 0
Newbie Poster
Billy is offline Offline
4 posts
since Dec 2003

This thread is more than three months old

No one has posted to this discussion for at least three months. Please let old threads die and do not reply to them unless you feel you have something new and valuable to contribute that absolutely must be added to make the discussion complete. Otherwise, please start a new thread in this forum instead.
Message:
Previous Thread in Web Browsers Forum Timeline: Disconnect from Ebay
Next Thread in Web Browsers Forum Timeline: Debug message





About Us | Contact Us | Advertise | Acceptable Use Policy
Forum Index | Build Custom RSS Feed


Follow us on Twitter


© 2011 DaniWeb® LLC