Hi ,
I have have just spent a day on reinstalling windows after a major crash....
but now I have no sound... anybody now how to get the drivers back up and running..
is there a standard device to start? can install say creative sound blaster? any help would be helpful!!!! oh windows xp home is what I have

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

I'm not an expert, but what I do know, is that when you re-install your OS, you also need to go to your Pc's manufacturer's website and install the necessary drives from their.

Also make sure you start updating your new installation from the Microsoft update site.

thanks for the info
I got the pc from tesco one of those package deals you know the type..
windows is registered but windows is contained with in the h drive so I can only do a f10 recovery which is what I have done....but for some reason no sound device..
I am now heading over to microsoft as you saod see what they have..nice cheers
ric

get your MOBO information, find out if you have any other sound cards, video or graphics cards and post them here. I will provide the exact drivers you need if you take the time to post the necessary specs!

iQon.ie X86-based Pc 3066Mhz Phoneix Technologies

SIS 661FX/GX Mirage Graphic

Audio codecs
legacy Audio Drivers
legacy capture devices
media control devices
video codecs
unimodem full duplex Audio device

and two I have loaded

sound blaster 16 or AWE32 or compatible (WDM)!
MPU-401 compatible Midi device!

hope this is what you require many thanks ric

get this program ,run it and in the left side/hardware section, click on motherboard and give us the model # of the motherboard , or devices and
http://www.gtopala.com/download/siw.exe

You may also want to see if Realtek AC 97 sound drivers will work to bring your audio back. I know in my case it did. Here is a link to them:

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsCheck.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=14&PFid=23&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false