1,105,254 Community Members

PC won't shut down

Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Don't know if this should be under this section or virus section but here goes...

Ever since a few days ago, my PC won't shut down, restart, log off, etc. No matter if I shut down from Start menu or from Task Manager, it doesn't do anything. I have to actually hold down the power button for my PC to switch off which I know isn't good for my computer. However, I noticed under Safe Mode, my PC shuts down perfectly. Any suggestions?

P.S. - I ran a few virus scans but nothing seems to help my situation. I also haven't downloaded any new major hardware/programs.

Member Avatar
DMR
Wombat At Large
6,809 posts since Dec 2003
Reputation Points: 152 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 380 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 11 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Shutdown problems can certainly be the work of spyware and the like, but it's also just as likely the result of (non-malicious) software conflicts or corruption.

Let's see if the system is leaving any "suicide notes": Open the Event Viewer utility in your Administrative Tools control panel and look through the system and application logs for any errors, warnings, or other messages which might point to the source of the problem. If you find any such messages, post their complete and exact contents for us please.

Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Well I think the problem has been fixed accidentally, but I have been receiving errors about device drivers not working properly. In the Event Log there has been about 25-30 errors stating that the attempt to power off my PC failed. Other than that, there hasn't been any other types of errors that bring attention expect this system error:
"Error code 1000000a, parameter1 e56c6946, parameter2 00000002, parameter3 00000001, parameter4 804dc11d.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp."
I will look at the website for more information. Thanks for your help and reply.

Member Avatar
DMR
Wombat At Large
6,809 posts since Dec 2003
Reputation Points: 152 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 380 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 11 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

SO the problem has cleared itself up somehow?

Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I honestly don't have any idea how except, before, I ran a virus scan but nothing came up. And then yesterday I was able to shut down again. I even did a system restore two days ago and it shut down after that but I had to undo it because some of my programs were gone. But do you have any idea what's wrong with these device drivers? I remember updating them about a month and a half ago and even then I was still getting errors about them. Thanks

Member Avatar
DMR
Wombat At Large
6,809 posts since Dec 2003
Reputation Points: 152 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 380 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 11 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

But do you have any idea what's wrong with these device drivers? I remember updating them about a month and a half ago and even then I was still getting errors about them. Thanks

You would have to tell us exactly which drivers were giving you errors, but if you can do that it's pretty likely that we can help.

Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Wow, I have no clue which drivers are causing the problems, but if I get another error, I'll look and post it in a new thread if that's ok. Thanks for all your help.

Member Avatar
claudiabullock
Newbie Poster
1 post since Nov 2011
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

i have tried holding down the power button but it does not work becuase when i switch my computer back on it just pulls uo the same screen. i just installed imvu and this window had come up for it and i havent been able to close it or shut down or log off etc. please help!

Member Avatar
JTLL92
Newbie Poster
3 posts since Feb 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

The events list says that Application, System, ACS, ODiag, and OSession all say they have an error how do i fix this.

Member Avatar
caperjack
I hate 20 Questions
13,847 posts since Aug 2003
Reputation Points: 875 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 901 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 69 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

The events list says that Application, System, ACS, ODiag, and OSession all say they have an error how do i fix this.

use a big flat head screwdriver tape it twice on the monitor and reboot

Member Avatar
caperjack
I hate 20 Questions
13,847 posts since Aug 2003
Reputation Points: 875 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 901 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 69 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

actually it depends on what it says the error are

Member Avatar
gerbil
Industrious Poster
4,621 posts since May 2005
Reputation Points: 183 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 338 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 5 [?]
 
0
 

She breaks the screen, she knows who to blame. :)
Rule 1. Don't look in Event Viewer unless you have a problem.
Rule 2. Dclick the error to read tha actual fault [module, code....] and google it.
Rule 3. Give us the detail.
EV will report an error on mundane stuff, like Security : your AV didnot/couldnot update on the first try. And so on. Or a DNS ignored a request, perhaps cos it was busy...

Member Avatar
caperjack
I hate 20 Questions
13,847 posts since Aug 2003
Reputation Points: 875 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 901 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 69 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

She breaks the screen, she knows who to blame. :)
.

if they actually that and break the screen ,they can have my monitor .loq

Member Avatar
JTLL92
Newbie Poster
3 posts since Feb 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

use a big flat head screwdriver tape it twice on the monitor and reboot

do what

Member Avatar
caperjack
I hate 20 Questions
13,847 posts since Aug 2003
Reputation Points: 875 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 901 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 69 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

do what

nuttin ,it was just a joke ,sorry


we need more info than you gave in your first post

Member Avatar
JTLL92
Newbie Poster
3 posts since Feb 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

nuttin ,it was just a joke ,sorry


we need more info than you gave in your first post

I dont know whats going on my computer wont shut down unless i press and hold down the power button. and when i checked the event list on the administer tools and it said all the setting had an record error.

Member Avatar
PythonGirl
Newbie Poster
2 posts since May 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Twice now, my PC hasnt shut down properly - it just hangs on 'shutting computer down' and doesnt do anything until I hard shut it. Checked the systems views/event viewer and have found this;

Applications;
Error 5/09/12 - 10:17pm - System.ServiceModel.install 3.0.0.0 - none 0 N/A
Warning 5/09/12 - 10:15pm ASP.NET 2.0 50727.0 - Setup - 1020 - N/A
Error 5/09/2012 - 10:13pm System.ServiceModel.install 3.0.0.0 - none 0 N/A
Warning 4/11/2012 - 7.36 - ASP.NET 2.0 50727.0 - Setup - 1020 - N/A

System;
Warning - 5/15/2012 - 10:37pm - Disk - None - 51 - N/A
Error - 5/15/2012 - 8.32pm - sr - None - 1 N/A
Warning - 5/12/12 - 5.29pm tcpip - None - 4226 n/a
Error - 5/12/2012 1:10pm - sr - None - 1 N/A

Can provide further logs if needed...

I use windows xp.

I would really appreciate some help!

Many thanks

Member Avatar
adityatandon
Junior Poster
114 posts since Dec 2011
Reputation Points: 23 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 13 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Python Girl, i think there are too many applications running on ur system and they need time to shut down properly... And probably, ur system is just overloaded beyond its optimum capacity... Could u tell us about your Computer Specs ?

Member Avatar
PythonGirl
Newbie Poster
2 posts since May 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Of course;

E8600 C2D 3ghz
XFXnForce 780i motherboard SLI
XFX nVidia 260 GTX 896mb
3gb DDR2
500gb SATA hdd

Many thanks,

Example
Newbie Poster
6 posts since May 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Unverified Member
 
0
 

Run these disk cleaners/checkers:
1) CCleaner
2) Glary Utilities
3) Wise TuneUp
and then run Microsoft update (not just Windows update - see Change Settings in left menu)

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article