1,105,644 Community Members

I can't copy or paste

Member Avatar
arainsb123
Newbie Poster
1 post since Oct 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
2
 

I can neither copy nor paste text, either by pressing ctrl+C and ctrl+V or by right-clicking. Does anyone know why?

Member Avatar
nanosani
Technize.net addict
1,764 posts since Jul 2004
Reputation Points: 20 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 58 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 1 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Can you tell us which specific application you are talking about ... and if its windows then what version of windows are you running .. and how long have you been into this problem ..

Jonny435
Deleted Member
 
0
 

Hey i have the same problem. I'm running windows xp and have never ran into this problem before and am stumped..

I cannot copy/paste in any program. not by CNTRL+C/CNTRL+V or by the edit menu or by right click.

Not in Word, IE, Notepad, or anything. Not even in this reply box

I cannot figure out what is causing this. I really need help fixing it.

I use cntrl+c/cntrl+v 100 times a day and now i can't use at all. It jsut happened this morning when i woke up.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thx
Darren

Member Avatar
crazygirl
Newbie Poster
1 post since Oct 2006
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hey i have the same problem. I'm running windows xp and have never ran into this problem before and am stumped..

I cannot copy/paste in any program. not by CNTRL+C/CNTRL+V or by the edit menu or by right click.

Not in Word, IE, Notepad, or anything. Not even in this reply box

I cannot figure out what is causing this. I really need help fixing it.

I use cntrl+c/cntrl+v 100 times a day and now i can't use at all. It jsut happened this morning when i woke up.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thx
Darren

So where is the reply to this please ... I just started having this problem.

Member Avatar
Dortz
Posting Whiz in Training
224 posts since Sep 2005
Reputation Points: 38 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 8 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

run a full system scan for virus and spyware, then go find your xp install disk.

go to start
run
type "SFC /scannnow"

that should check all your critical windows files to make sure they haven't been currupted or removed.

Member Avatar
irock708
Newbie Poster
3 posts since Nov 2006
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

run a full system scan for virus and spyware, then go find your xp install disk.

go to start
run
type "SFC /scannnow"

that should check all your critical windows files to make sure they haven't been currupted or removed.

Um... I tried that, but it goes away too fast for me to read... o_O;;

And, yes, the same problem is going on with me. It's been like this since Friday. Which is odd, like the others say because I've always used Ctrl + C and Ctrl + V to copy/paste.

Member Avatar
Dortz
Posting Whiz in Training
224 posts since Sep 2005
Reputation Points: 38 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 8 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

open a command line window and type that command then. put your xp installation disk in the drive and stop the autorun.

If this doesn't fix your problem: There is something on your computer that spyware/virusscan is not catching. if noone has any other ideas, i would recommend backing up any files worth keeping, and doing a clean reinstall.

Member Avatar
irock708
Newbie Poster
3 posts since Nov 2006
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Well, I looked it up on Google, and I found the solution to my problem and now it works. And I don't know what a command line is... ^^;;

Member Avatar
xcellpro6
Junior Poster
138 posts since Nov 2006
Reputation Points: 2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 15 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi Irock

Its great that you found the Soloution. Can you share it with us as we are all here to help one another.

kind regards

Darren
South Africa

Member Avatar
irock708
Newbie Poster
3 posts since Nov 2006
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi Irock

Its great that you found the Soloution. Can you share it with us as we are all here to help one another.

kind regards

Darren
South Africa

http://www.vividreflection.com/blogEntry.php?id=16#update20060502

There ya go. =]

Sorry if I took a while to reply. I've been busy lately ^^;;

Member Avatar
xcellpro6
Junior Poster
138 posts since Nov 2006
Reputation Points: 2 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 15 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Thanks Irock

Some good reading

Member Avatar
merlinds33
Newbie Poster
1 post since Feb 2008
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I found a good fix here:

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Clipboard_not_working

Removing AppInit_DLLS
Caution: While these steps should be safe to perform if followed correctly, you should never edit the registry if you don't feel confident or are unsure of what you are doing.

Important! Close all Firefox, Opera and Internet Explorer windows.
Click Start > Run…
Type “regedit.exe” and press OK.
Get to the following location in the registry: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows
In the pane on the right-hand side of regedit you should see a String called “AppInit_DLLs”
Take note of any value listed to the right of “AppInit_DLLs” as it may indicate you have malware installed.
Right click on “AppInit_DLLs” and choose Delete.

Member Avatar
bmearns
Newbie Poster
1 post since Mar 2008
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

that scannow suggestion and restarting did it for me too, thanks!

Member Avatar
schoteltje
Newbie Poster
1 post since Nov 2008
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Normally I have no problem but for this site: dutch recipes

SNIP

Is there anyway you can think of to copy a recipe from this site??
Thanks
Schoteltje

Member Avatar
2shot
Newbie Poster
1 post since Nov 2008
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi Everyone!!! I'm new here.
I have a problem when am trying to copy a picture from the windows internet explorer. When I right click to copy it a message comes up "Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and need to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience".Any ideas of how to deal with this..

thanks
Cece

Member Avatar
mslovenfrog
Newbie Poster
1 post since Aug 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

http://www.vividreflection.com/blogEntry.php?id=16#update20060502

There ya go. =]

Sorry if I took a while to reply. I've been busy lately ^^;;

HI I did everything you wrote down an I still can't copy or paste What else can I do?I have windows xp I don't know what happened,one day I could copy an paste an the next day I couldn't I hope you can help me

Member Avatar
eugenenbell
Newbie Poster
1 post since Jan 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I wish I could tell you. I got vista, and it's doing it. Don't have any idea what to do. Gene

Hey i have the same problem. I'm running windows xp and have never ran into this problem before and am stumped..

I cannot copy/paste in any program. not by CNTRL+C/CNTRL+V or by the edit menu or by right click.

Not in Word, IE, Notepad, or anything. Not even in this reply box

I cannot figure out what is causing this. I really need help fixing it.

I use cntrl+c/cntrl+v 100 times a day and now i can't use at all. It jsut happened this morning when i woke up.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thx
Darren

Member Avatar
Tasak
Newbie Poster
1 post since Feb 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

i cant copy and paste items i needa file to copy that i cant download need a solution really fast pls write me the solution pls need help if i format or reinstall i wont have that file pls

Member Avatar
Bob_180_Bob
Posting Virtuoso
1,714 posts since Apr 2008
Reputation Points: 41 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 132 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi Tasak and welcome to Daniweb,
You have piggybacked an old thread and I can not help you with the information you have supplied.
Please start a new thread and supply a lot of information about your machine, OS and your problem. What program are you having trouble with? What are you trying to do? What happens when you do it? Have you tried any fixes as yet? and as much other information so that the person here can understand what is happening and try to assist you.

Member Avatar
michael2093870
Newbie Poster
5 posts since Apr 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Can you tell us which specific application you are talking about ... and if its windows then what version of windows are you running .. and how long have you been into this problem ..

I use WindowsXP home/prof versions

I've just joined the 'noncopy n paste' group. I've tried everything I know to move my pc to make that function - didn't realize how often I use it until the stinking thing quit doing it! I sure hope to hear from someone soon. Thanks a lot!

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: