1,105,633 Community Members

No graphic driver Installed - vgasave?

Member Avatar
flagstar
Practically a Master Poster
615 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 111 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 63 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I've been stuck with finding the right graphic driver for mb MSI PM8M-V N1996 VT8237R 2.4GHz...

Recently I have formatted my HDD for Window error but forgot to copy any necessary driver for new XP installation. After I successfully installed XP SP2 on my desktop computer, I realized it could not play some games that were previously fine. After a throughout check, Ac'97 sound driver, SCSI/RAID and Video Controller (VGA Compatible) was not automatically install.

Sound driver issue was solved along but now I'm stuck with RAID and graphic drivers. For graphic, its driver were never install to begin with and it used vgasave which will not render some games and even apps/movies.

I tried to find possible related driver but none of them failed (minimum requirement not met)... Can anyone help me with this problem...

Window XP Pro SP2 OEM Version
Intel(R)
Intel(R) Pentium 4 2.4Ghz
728MB RAM (512 and 256)
Motherboard MSI N1996 VT8237R

(only this what I could find with normal inspection)

Thanks in advance...

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

While looking for drivers for you I found this post:

"Hi, well you guys have all been fooled by the N1996 in big alphanumerics. That some Australian certification number. The normal place for board numbers is between the PCI slots on most brands of motherboard. If you look there you will see MS-6178 ver x.x or some other number...
Ok the mystery is solved, the board is not N1996 but MS 6178 ver 1.1 in my True Blue PC. Go to MSI Global ? Computer, Laptop, Notebook, Desktop, Mainboard, Graphics and more Bios, driver, manuals, everything!

so ignore the N1996 on any board...and keep looking for the number between the slots."

Can you double check the model of your motherboard. Or take a picture of and post it here?

Member Avatar
flagstar
Practically a Master Poster
615 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 111 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 63 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Oh, I didn't realize the the board numbers between PCI Slot. Here's what I found on it...

PM8M-VH MS7104 VER 3.0

And I was wrong when I just guessing it was PM8M-V, not PM8M-VH

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

No problem, Ok that is what we needed.

I found your motherboard page here: http://www.msi.com/product/mb/PM8M-V.html

Go to the download tab and select your os and download your driver.

Member Avatar
flagstar
Practically a Master Poster
615 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 111 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 63 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I've tried it couple of times but it's not working...
It won't install the driver and log file shows nothing (zero byte)

Is it because of the vgasave do I need to install it in safe mode?

Here's what I downloaded from MSI site

File name: KM400_71.zip

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

what os are you running?

Member Avatar
flagstar
Practically a Master Poster
615 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 111 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 63 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Window XP Pro SP2 x32

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I am showing a different file name.

File Name: KM400_73.zip

http://www.msi.com/service/download/driver-2530.html

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Oooppps didn't look up, you said XP in the original post... let me know if that last link works for you.

Member Avatar
flagstar
Practically a Master Poster
615 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 111 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 63 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Also not working either... Still show the same error...
Also did try other driver like Intel GMA series but no avail too...

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

How big is the file after you download it?

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

After you download the file are you able to successfully extract it?

Member Avatar
flagstar
Practically a Master Poster
615 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 111 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 63 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

About 14MB in size (13.8MB approx)
Can I use force install for this driver?

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

So you were able to download and extract it and you get the error when you run the setup?

Member Avatar
flagstar
Practically a Master Poster
615 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 111 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 63 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Yes I was able to extract it after I download it which reveal 2 folder Win2k-XP and Win98-ME... I run the setup inside Win2k-XP and it extracted to temp folder, follow the instruction and all but when it tried to install it show error and advice to look inside Windows directory for log file...

I found 0.log file in the directory but show nothing inside...

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

HHhhhmmmmm, give me a second to look at something.

Member Avatar
flagstar
Practically a Master Poster
615 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 111 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 63 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Thanks...

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

No Problem, Ok so it looks like the MSI has a web based auto update feature:

http://www.msi.com/service/liveupdate/

Since we can't get the download to work why don't you give the live update a shot.

Member Avatar
flagstar
Practically a Master Poster
615 posts since Oct 2009
Reputation Points: 111 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 63 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Ok... I'll try to use that and update this thread after I tried it...

Member Avatar
zelkea
Posting Whiz
325 posts since Jul 2006
Reputation Points: 5 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 35 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Fingers are crossed!

You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: