1,105,578 Community Members

Help and support and Msconfig won't open, Search disabled

Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Ok, well my problem is that my Help and Support center won't open and also Msconfig. When I try and open Help and Support, nothing happens and when I try and open Msconfig, I get an error message saying that "Windows cannot find 'msconfig'. Make sure you typed in the name correctly..." Another problem I'm having is that my Search is disabled. I noticed this when I tried to search for my Msconfig and Help and Support files, but the Search feature doesn't open. Anyone know what can be the cause of this or if there is a fix? Thanks in advance.

Member Avatar
tayspen
<Insert title here>
1,582 posts since Jul 2005
Reputation Points: 28 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 104 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Ok, well my problem is that my Help and Support center won't open and also Msconfig. When I try and open Help and Support, nothing happens and when I try and open Msconfig, I get an error message saying that "Windows cannot find 'msconfig'. Make sure you typed in the name correctly..." Another problem I'm having is that my Search is disabled. I noticed this when I tried to search for my Msconfig and Help and Support files, but the Search feature doesn't open. Anyone know what can be the cause of this or if there is a fix? Thanks in advance.

Hm, this site #70 should restore search to the start menu. And re-enable it.


As for MSCONFIG, first lets make sure it on your system
go to

%Systemroot%\pchealth\helpctr\binaries\msconfig.exe

and confirm its there. If it is Let me know. We will go from there.

As for Help and suuport. Just try pressing F1 on keyboard that should open it. If it doesnt let me know.

-T

Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

OK, here's the update. I got my Search feature up and running, and it is confirmed that msconfig is on my system, but I'm still not able to open it through RUN. And about the Help and Support, when you say press F1, when am I supposed to do that? Right when my PC starts up, when I click Help and Support, or just at anytime? And from the link you gave me, I checked out the tweak for Help and Support and applied it, so now when I try and open Help and Support, I get the same type of error message as I was getting with msconfig. So, what should I do now? Thanks for the speedy reply.

Member Avatar
tayspen
<Insert title here>
1,582 posts since Jul 2005
Reputation Points: 28 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 104 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

OK, here's the update. I got my Search feature up and running, and it is confirmed that msconfig is on my system, but I'm still not able to open it through RUN. And about the Help and Support, when you say press F1, when am I supposed to do that? Right when my PC starts up, when I click Help and Support, or just at anytime? And from the link you gave me, I checked out the tweak for Help and Support and applied it, so now when I try and open Help and Support, I get the same type of error message as I was getting with msconfig. So, what should I do now? Thanks for the speedy reply.

Hi,

Press the F1 key on your keyboard any time when your system is booted. It is a shortcut to Help and support. As for msconfig. do this

*****
Note this involves the regitry advance at your own risk. if you dont know wahtyour doing the STOP now
*****
Go to "Start">Run>type regedit

then browse as follows.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
SOFTWARE
Microsoft
Windows
CurrentVersion
App Paths

under app paths make sure you see MSCONFIG.EXE . There in alphabetical order so it will be in the M's. If you see a folder that says that. Look to the right. you should see an icon with 'ab' on it and it should be called default. Make sure its value is.


X:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe

where X is your root drive.

If its there then i am not sure why MSCONFIG does not run.


If its not there then that is why it doesnt run i think. If its not there i have attached a file*. download and run it. When it asks to import to registry. say yes. it should say imported succesfully. you should now be able to run msconfig. By going to start run msconfig.


*
**************
NOTE: THE FILE CHANGES THE REGISTRY IT ADDS THE MISSING ENTRY TO FIX YOUR PROBLEM (or it should fix it) AS ALWAYS USE FILE AT YOUR OWN RISK.
**************

Ok now that thats done :) you will find the file in the attachment.


-T

Attachments MSCONFIG_FIX.zip (0.35KB)
Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

THANKS! I got Msconfig running so 2 out of 3 problems fixed. My Help and Support is simply not opening when I press F1, however when I went to My Computer and pressed F1, I got the same Help and Support error message. So, is there a fix for this too? Thanks for all your help so far!

Member Avatar
chrisbliss18
Posting Shark
902 posts since Aug 2005
Reputation Points: 26 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 24 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

*removed*

Member Avatar
tayspen
<Insert title here>
1,582 posts since Jul 2005
Reputation Points: 28 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 104 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

As for HAS i am not sure. I will have to do some research. would you mind sharing how you fixed MSCONFIG incase others have your same problem? thanks

-T

Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

As for HAS i am not sure. I will have to do some research. would you mind sharing how you fixed MSCONFIG incase others have your same problem? thanks

-T

ok sure. whenever someone has a msconfig problem, i'll point them to the registry fix you mentioned.

Member Avatar
SuperSam
Junior Poster in Training
68 posts since Aug 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi,
Type sfc /scannow in the "Run" window with the XP CD in your top CD/DVD drive. Reboot when done.

Sam.

Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi,
Type sfc /scannow in the "Run" window with the XP CD in your top CD/DVD drive. Reboot when done.

Sam.

i don't have the windows XP CD...any other ideas?

Member Avatar
SuperSam
Junior Poster in Training
68 posts since Aug 2005
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 2 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi,
Maybe you can borrow an OS CD from a friend..!!
Sam.

Member Avatar
tayspen
<Insert title here>
1,582 posts since Jul 2005
Reputation Points: 28 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 104 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Hi,
Maybe you can borrow an OS CD from a friend..!!
Sam.

Or go here and look under "StartMenu\Help and support won't work" That should be able to help you (try the script). Let me know if it fixes it :).

-T

Member Avatar
goldeagle2005
Finkus Stinkalotus
1,486 posts since Jun 2005
Reputation Points: 33 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 52 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Clcik start>run. Type 'services.msc'. In the Local Services window, scroll to "Help and Support". Double clcik this. Under startup, make sure "Automatic" is selected. Then, click the "start" button below under "Service Status". See if this helps.

Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Clcik start>run. Type 'services.msc'. In the Local Services window, scroll to "Help and Support". Double clcik this. Under startup, make sure "Automatic" is selected. Then, click the "start" button below under "Service Status". See if this helps.

ok my under Help and Support, automatic is selected and it is already started but i'm still getting the error message.

Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Or go here and look under "StartMenu\Help and support won't work" That should be able to help you (try the script). Let me know if it fixes it :).

-T

ok, on that website, most of the fixes it has me to do requires the XP cd which I simply don't have and cannot get a hold of. But there is one fix that I have no way of figuring out simply because im a newbie (lol). I was wondering if anyone can walk me through this:
"This script repairs Windows Help and Support
Repairs Windows® XP Help and Support after running Easy Cleaner or similar registry cleaners."

anyone know the steps of how to do this?

thanks for all the help and responses

Member Avatar
tayspen
<Insert title here>
1,582 posts since Jul 2005
Reputation Points: 28 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 104 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

ok, on that website, most of the fixes it has me to do requires the XP cd which I simply don't have and cannot get a hold of. But there is one fix that I have no way of figuring out simply because im a newbie (lol). I was wondering if anyone can walk me through this:
"This script repairs Windows Help and Support
Repairs Windows® XP Help and Support after running Easy Cleaner or similar registry cleaners."

anyone know the steps of how to do this?

thanks for all the help and responses

I have attahced the scriupt...all you have to do is double click on it. Its in the attachment.

-T

Attachments HAS_Fix.zip (0.9KB)
Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I ran the script but I'm still getting the error that Windows cannot find helpctr.exe. What folder is helpctr.exe supposed to be in? Is there a way for me to download a copy of helpctr.exe and then point my PC to that location? Thanks for all the help you've given me.

Member Avatar
tayspen
<Insert title here>
1,582 posts since Jul 2005
Reputation Points: 28 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 104 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

look here

http://windowsxp.mvps.org/startmenuhelp.htm

-T

Aso run a search on your comp for it. See if that finds it.

Member Avatar
bbb2k4life
Junior Poster in Training
86 posts since Jan 2004
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

look here

http://windowsxp.mvps.org/startmenuhelp.htm

-T

Aso run a search on your comp for it. See if that finds it.

i've already been to that website and it deosn't help my situation because it's based on the problem that you can still open Help and Support from a desktop shortcut, yet i can't

and my helpctr.exe is in the right folder but it juss simply will not open. i have no idea why. maybe a virus took it over. i read somewhere that someone had helpctr.exe and it was 500kb but mine is 750 kb. so is that normal?

Member Avatar
tayspen
<Insert title here>
1,582 posts since Jul 2005
Reputation Points: 28 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 104 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
Team Colleague
 
0
 

Go in explorer go to help and click help and support center, see if that opens it. If not lemme know, because then we know your start menu shortcut is messed up. I will work on a script to fix it. Btw did it open when you tried F1

oh and when you say it wont open, it wont open even when you click it right there? If not then yea im sure you have a virus.

You
This article has been dead for over three months: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article