1,105,229 Community Members

Warning no line mapping found?

Member Avatar
Inspect480
Newbie Poster
11 posts since Oct 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I have a Dell Dimension XPS. the ABCD lights are all green but I consistently get a blue screen and hard stop while booting. I booted to the diagnostic CD (F12)and tried to run the full 32 bit diagnostics. I immediately get an error message "No line mapping found. Hit any key to abort".

Anyone know what this means and what I should do next?

Member Avatar
gerbil
Industrious Poster
4,622 posts since May 2005
Reputation Points: 183 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 338 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 5 [?]
 
0
 

The reference is probably to address line mapping, so expect trouble with memory sticks, you might hope, but more likely the cpu. If your BIOS allows it, use expanded bios reporting options so that it at least does a quick check of memory addressing. And try memtest86+ .... gurgle for that, the download choices are down the page a ways, and options are for all the usual bootable media. There are CPU tests out there.

Member Avatar
Inspect480
Newbie Poster
11 posts since Oct 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

The reference is probably to address line mapping, so expect trouble with memory sticks, you might hope, but more likely the cpu. If your BIOS allows it, use expanded bios reporting options so that it at least does a quick check of memory addressing. And try memtest86+ .... gurgle for that, the download choices are down the page a ways, and options are for all the usual bootable media. There are CPU tests out there.

Thanks I will try that and let you know how it goes.

Member Avatar
Inspect480
Newbie Poster
11 posts since Oct 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I found and used memtest86+ no problems with the memory. I was able to get a dell drivers and Utilities disk .Itried to run that and it came up with exception occurred in module Delldiag.exe warning no line mapping found is this the same problem?? cpu test next?

Member Avatar
gerbil
Industrious Poster
4,622 posts since May 2005
Reputation Points: 183 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 338 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 5 [?]
 
0
 

I think so... :(. But I am out of my depth here right now. CPU architecture falls WAY outside my interests; you have to draw a line somewhere. I use a proprietary system benchmarking software, but there is likely something to do the job at no cost. Gurgling gives me these of some interest:
http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Benchmarks/CPUMark.shtml
or go wild here: http://majorgeeks.com/downloads4.html
Any chance of dropping your CPU into another sys?

Member Avatar
Inspect480
Newbie Poster
11 posts since Oct 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I think so... :(. But I am out of my depth here right now. CPU architecture falls WAY outside my interests; you have to draw a line somewhere. I use a proprietary system benchmarking software, but there is likely something to do the job at no cost. Gurgling gives me these of some interest:
http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Benchmarks/CPUMark.shtml
or go wild here: http://majorgeeks.com/downloads4.html
Any chance of dropping your CPU into another sys?

No I doin't have anouther system to drop it in to . This is what I have found out so far you have helped point me in the right direction. I doint beleave it 's the Cpu yet. the line mapping only came up when I tried to run the Dell 32 bit diagnostics. I relized after I sent the last thread that the way you load the disk and the way it runs is befor any programs are installed. I watched the disk start to run and noticed it stoped after it had gone through the CP and a couple of other devices. It stoped when it went to Initializing USBTM.MDM I doin't know if that means ther is something wrong with the USB device or something else? On with the search

Member Avatar
gerbil
Industrious Poster
4,622 posts since May 2005
Reputation Points: 183 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 338 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 5 [?]
 
0
 

Totally unfamiliar with the Dell Diagnostic CD... I thought it would be a standalone, bootable thing, but it sounds as if it uses core parts of the OS on the machine it wishes to test? So it might be your HAL playing up? Here:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff554406(v=vs.85).aspx

Member Avatar
Inspect480
Newbie Poster
11 posts since Oct 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

It is a bootable disk it is installed after striking f12 on startup. Since your last messeage i have resolved the line mapping problem. As it turns out it was a bad cd or dirty cd player? I was able to run the diagnostics and everything at least according to dells disk is fine.

Question Answered as of 2 Years Ago by gerbil
Member Avatar
gerbil
Industrious Poster
4,622 posts since May 2005
Reputation Points: 183 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 338 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 5 [?]
 
0
 

Interesting. So you swapped cd players? If so, I guess I'd go with bad. Who knows what Dell meant by line mapping?
No more bluescreens?

Member Avatar
Inspect480
Newbie Poster
11 posts since Oct 2010
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I actually cleaned the cd player with can of air I hardly use that cd player. No more blue screens all fixed at least that problem. Thanks for the help I will be posting anouther problem with outlook 2010. Life is intresting what would we do without our computers. LOL

You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article