Does anyone know why when i try delete a folder off of my C drive i get this message:

"Cannot delete CAIDWFIT.: Cannot find the specified file.
Make sure you specify the correct path and file name."

is there a method of bypassing this and deleting the folder? all i know to try is either right click and select delete or hit the shift + delete keys at the same in order to bypass the recycle bin.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

have you tried doing it in safe mode ,safe mode hit f8 on bootup

have you tried doing it in safe mode ,safe mode hit f8 on bootup

Cheers for the reply mate, i've never tried using safe mode before, the layout of my desktop and folders looked completely different, it was a little disorienting :cheesy: , sadly though it did not work and i got the same error message as before.

Is there anything else i can try? thanks again.

What's the path to the file? It's on the desktop? Also, are you able to do anything to the folder, such as set attributes (system, hidden, read-only) or can you do absolutely nothing with it?

You can go into Dos, and try to delete the file manually using it's short name..... or trying doing it using wildcards. You could also try this tool:
http://www.purgeie.com/delinv/index.htm

If the file is not invalid (assuming this tool doesn't fix the problem) let me know.... either the filename is invalid, and windows can't access it (for a number of reasons), or another app is using the file and won't release it (in which case I can get around that). Let me know.

What's the path to the file? It's on the desktop? Also, are you able to do anything to the folder, such as set attributes (system, hidden, read-only) or can you do absolutely nothing with it?

Hi, cheers for the help, the folder isn't on my desktop, the path to the folder is:

C:/My Shit/BitTorrent/BIT