Hi to you good folks..firstly can I say I'm not very technically minded so if anyone can help will you please keep it simple..thankyou...... running XP pro. just put a second hard drive in as a slave for storage...went to disk management..storage and tried to make a single partition (fat32) but it only gave me 31.2gig. Can anyone please tell me how to patition and format to the full 160gig or as close as possible. A friend said I need to use NTFS but I dont have a clue what he's on about,,,niether does he I don't think.....many thanks for any help offered... Andy. ps. is there a freeware prog. that might do it. thankyou again...Andy

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hello Andy. I saw this and was intrigued. I had to join to reply.

I don't know what operating system (OS) you are running or if you had upgraded from a previous OS but I will bet that it is not a problem with FAT 32. FAT 32 will theoretically support hard drives up to 2 terabytes. These are not even made yet. Still, I would recommend upgrading to NTFS if your OS supports it.

Now, why won't your pc recognize the 160 GB hard drive. It is likely your BIOS. In order for FAT 32 to create a partition larger than 32,XXX MB (32 GB), it must use 64 sectors per cluster. Your BIOS may only support up to 32 sectors per cluster which ends at 32,768 MB. Once you subtract the recycle bin and page file reserves, you might end up with the 31.2GB as you have.

Short of upgrading your BIOS (assuming it's flashable), you are left with a 32 GB limit for your partitions. I wouldn't be upset if I had a 32 GB hard drive.
You may be able to create logical drives by going to Control Panel->Administrative Tools->Computer Management->Disk Management.
Flashing the BIOS is risky. I wouldn't attempt it unless I was absolutely sure of what I was doing. Don't forget to BACKUP if you try.

Good luck.